Flapjacks my way

This morning, I wanted to change up my oats routine a bit, so I decided to make myself a delicious flapjack!

I made this little guy from my new favorite mix: Kodiak Cakes! This brand is a 100% whole grain mix with great nutritional stats: 7g protein, 4g fiber, and only 130 cal in a single serving. The ingredient list also makes my heart soar as it contains only real foods. No weird, artificial Frankenfoods for my morning pancake. It’s also foolproof to make….just add an equal part water to the mix! How easy is that? And (before I start sounding like an infomercial), I love how you can make a single serving at a time. Most pancakes mixes only give you directions on how to make pancakes for 2-3 people. Well, I cook only for myself, and don’t particularly like being tempted by oodles of leftover pancakes. The Kodiak mix avoids this problem, so I don’t end up overdoing it in the pancake department. Okay, moving on….

Instead of topping it with maple syrup (which I find entirely too sweet), I went with a different (and healthier) approach.

I topped my flapjack with:

  • 0% plain Chobani Green Yogurt
  • 1T of my homemade cinnamon almond butter (sooo good!)
  • strawberries, blueberries, and blackberries
  • 1t chia seeds
  • 1T Udi’s granola

Waaaaaay better than maple syrup!

I love to start my day off with whole grains, protein, antioxidants, and nut buttery goodness!

Together with some coffee + soy creamer:

Happy Thursday!

4 responses to “Flapjacks my way

  1. What a beautiful breakfast! I like maple syrup, but only if my waffle/pancake also has some fruit, yogurt, and/or nut butter too. I love how you arranged the fruit — creative 🙂

    • Thanks! I like to have fun with my pancake arrangements in the AM. What better way to start the day than with a beautiful-looking (and great-tasting!) breakfast?

  2. Wow. That looks AMAZING! Please send one my way, ASAP. Thanks 🙂

    Also, when do we get your recipe for the cinnamon almond butter?

    • I want to try out a few other nut butter concoctions on my mini food processor before I post any recipes. But I will definitely put it up eventually. It’s so freaking good. I really want to try to make cashew butter…and maybe add honey to it? Something like that…

Leave a Reply

