I want to cook!

For the past couple of days, I have been unable to actually cook a nice dinner for myself. Yesterday, I went to the Rock Cats game at night, which meant that I needed to pack something portable (i.e. a sandwich) to take to the stadium. Tonight, AmeriCorps duty required me to stay later than my normal leaving hours (usually around 6:30 or 7) and stick around for the Wednesday Poker Night Tournament.

Just call me Lindsay, card shark at large. In all honesty, I’m not half bad at Texas Hold ‘Em, and I’ve certainly earned the respect of our regular group of players.  All the other players are guys, so I’m the sole representation for the ladies. I like to think I represent us womenfolk pretty well. 🙂

Anyway, because I’m a dedicated AmeriCorps volunteer who would never let her residents down by missing the poker night, I had to figure out yet another portable dinner. Blargh…I don’t have much in my fridge at the moment, so I decided to pull something from the depths of my freezer and hope for the best.

While it looked terrifying coming out of the freezer and kinda gross upon thawing, this piece of vegan lentil loaf was delicious on its second go-around. Too bad it fell apart in the transfer from freezer bag to plate….

All sorts of nutritious goodies found their way into this slice of lentil loaf including:

  • lentils (duh)
  • crasins
  • apples
  • bell pepper
  • carrot
  • celery
  • panko crumbs
  • walnuts
  • flax

The lentil loaf is very healthy and delicious, but it’s also quite energy dense (read: high in calories). As a result, I decided to pair  it with something light and simple to complete the meal and get in more leafy greens into my system:

A simple side salad with tomatoes and homemade balsamic dressing.

Tomorrow, cooking shall return to my life. I insist upon it for my own sanity!

I got hungry several hours later (I guess the lentil loaf wasn’t as energy dense as I thought), so I whipped up a banana ice cream malt for myself.

Just kidding!

But it looks like an ice cream malt, doesn’t it? And I can honestly say it tastes similar to one too (not quite as decadent though..).

Okay, here’s what I really made: a banana protein smoothie!

What, you might ask, is this?

Simple. It’s a blenderized concoction made up of vanilla protein powder, soy milk, water, frozen banana, and maca (for the malty taste). Throw in a little (okay…a TON) of ice and bam. We’ve got ourselves a deadringer for a banana malt. Only, now it’s pretty goshdarn healthy.

The recipe:

In a blender, add 1/2 cup milk of your choice , 1/2 cup water, 1/2 frozen banana, 1/2 cup protein powder of your choice (I used vanilla flavor to best mimic the milkshake taste), and 1 t maca. Blend away. Once it’s smooth, add as much ice as your little heart desires. I like my smoothies thick. Very thick.

So I add a ridiculous amount of ice to it and a packet of truvia to sweeten a bit. The ice really bulks up the volume on this concoction so it makes a lot.

In fact, it makes so much that I couldn’t finish it all….yet (here’s the good news), the entire malt runs you only between 150-200 cal depending on the size of the banana half you selected. And trust me, if you use as much ice as I did, you won’t be able to finish it.

Yes, that’s a wine glass holding my banana malt. I use wine glasses for weird smoothies instead of wine because I’m cool like that. Nighty night!

2 responses to “I want to cook!

  1. Looooove the banana “ice cream.” I also love + have made that lentil loaf. SO delicious. Don’t worry about the meet-up…there will be more!! And once you arrive we can always plan a time to meet as well 🙂

  2. When I made the lentil loaf, I know I was so surprised at how much it tasted like real meatloaf! The flavor combo was just SO right.

    I’m glad to hear there will be more meet-ups! 🙂 I can’t wait to get back to CO….August can’t come soon enough!

Leave a Reply

