Les poissons, les poissons…

Les poissons, les poissons…how I love little fishies! —The Little Mermaid

I’m not going to lie. I LOVE seafood almost as much as crazed Chef Louis from The Little Mermaid. Salmon, tuna, scallops, shrimp, halibut, lobster, crab (don’t hate me, Sebastian!)…if it scurries around in the ocean, I will probably enjoy eating it. Sad, but true. For a brief 10 second period in my life, I once considered being a vegetarian. But that thought was quickly erased from my mind when I dreamt of all the sushi I would never again consume. Tears filled my eyes at this notion. As often as I love to eat a delicious vegetarian meal, my heart (and stomach) feels the need for fish consumption fairly regularly. If I ignored these cravings, I might end up like this…

And trust me…no one wants to see that. Today, my inner Chef Louis decided that fish must be consumed today, so ze fish was selected out of ze pantry! Oui, oui!

Only the finest of canned fish for yours truly….Chef Louis would have been proud.

Gotta get my omega-3s in!

I made a delicious Spicy Curried Salmon and Avocado Salad for lunch today using the wild canned salmon pictured above, avocado, cucumber, bell peppers, mustard as the binder, and lots of curry and cayenne.

It took about five minutes to put together, and tasted great! I served it with some seeded spelt Dr. Kracker crackers (the. best. crackers. evah.) atop a bed of spinach.

I thought I’d share the (admittedly very simple) recipe with you: 5-minute Spicy Curried Salmon and Avocado Salad

It’s great if you’re looking for a fast, easy, and healthy lunch. I can also vouch for its portability, a very important consideration for me!

To top it all off, I had a yummy Mcintosh apple!

The combination of whole grains, healthy fats, and protein in the salad kept me satiated until the late afternoon when I dug into my planned afternoon snack.

Yummy pistachios and dried fruit! A great salty and sweet combo.

Some vegetarian eats shall return this evening. Until then, I bid you adieu and will leave you with these thoughtful tidbits from Chef Louis himself:

Les poissons
Les poissons
How I love les poissons
Love to chop
And to serve little fish
First you cut off their heads
Then you pull out the bones
Ah mais oui
Ca c’est toujours delish
Les poissons
Les poissons
Hee hee hee
Hah hah hah
With the cleaver I hack them in two
You pull out what’s inside
And you serve it up fried
God, I love little fishes
Don’t you?

Leave a Reply

