Twitchy muscles

Did you know that there are two different types of muscle fibers inside our muscles?

Generally, most of us have a certain number of fast twitch and slow twitch fibers. Slow twitch muscle fibers are resistant to fatigue and highly efficient at using oxygen in the blood, but do not create a high force output; they are responible for slow, prolonged movement.  Fast twitch, in contrast, have high force outputs but tire more quickly; they are responsible for rapid, sudden movements (i.e. fast reflexes).  The particular proportion of these fibers in our muscles generally determine whether we are more inclined to be sprinters or endurance athletes.

Why am I boring you with this? Because I pondered over these things at the gym this morning when I wondered whether or not I have ANY fast twitch muscles in my body. For my entire life, I have loathed anything involving sprinting. I have the reflexes of a slow-moving cow, so I have always gravitated toward those activities that require not speed but endurance. Not to say that I’m some amazing endurance athlete by any means, but I do have the ability to plod along on a run or schlep my butt up a mountain for a very long time.

Today, I tried to change up my slow twitch fiber-pleasing routine by doing some plyometric exercises such as burpees, lunge jumps, and squats jumps. I could only do 5 burpees in a row without feeling like I was going to keel over. My heart was pounding, my muscles were quivering. It wasn’t pretty. Sigh….and don’t get me started on the lung jumps. That type of movement goes against every fiber of my being (sorry for the pun, but I couldn’t resist). I finished up my legs workout (which included calf lifts, stability ball lifts, and squats) with a bit of running on the treadmill and headed off to work….

I was starving once the lunch hour hit….I guess the pancake didn’t hold me over quite as well as I would have hoped. Maybe I’ll up my 1/3 cup serving to a 1/2 cup serving next time I plan on doing a tough workout that same day.

Lunch today was the other half of my 5-minute Spicy Curried Salmon and Avocado Salad. I placed it (along with some spinach) on one of these new wraps I bought at the store yesterday.

I really liked how easy these wraps were to roll up! Usually, I have issues making the wrap stay closed, but I had no troubles containing my wrap using the Flat-Out.

All wrapped up:

Is it Chipotle, or is it a salmon wrap? Hmmm….

Added some carrots, bell peppers strips, and cucumbers for the veggies. Sometimes, I just like the taste of raw veggies.

An apple completed the meal.

Look at all those colors. You just know it’s gotta be good for you.

Snack for later: more Dr. Krackah!

Nomnomnom.

Question: What do you prefer- endurance or sprint events?

Leave a Reply

