Ghetto Not So Fabulous

I had an AmeriCorps meeting this morning, which lasted until about noon. My green breakfast smoothie definitely had the staying power I was hoping it would, keeping me full until about 12:30.

After the meeting, I had the rest of the day off of work, so I decided to drop by the ghetto fabulous post office near my house to pick up a package my mom had sent me. Sounds easy enough, right?

Wrong. Nothing is easy when you live in the ghetto, as I do at the moment.

Driving to work isn’t easy…mothers will often push their children out in front of my car at a moment’s notice, leaving my heart pounding and my mouth running off a slew of curse words as I slam on the brakes to avoid hitting anybody.

Doing your laundry isn’t easy….I have to haul my stuff to a neighborhood laundromat, where I will often be harassed by crazy people and creepers trying to hit on me.

Being out in the neighborhood isn’t easy….my neighborhood is renowned for being “the epicenter of drug sales” in Hartford. And with drug sales often comes drug-related violence. The “Hood” (as my roommate and I call it) is always on the news due to shootings, several of which have happened on my street.

And now, I’ve discovered that picking up a package at the post office isn’t easy.

With a line of over 30 people streaming out the door, the lone guy manning the post office decided it would be a great idea to take his lunch break….for 40 minutes. I’m not kidding. He just got up and left without taking into consideration all of the customers who had yet to be served. When someone finally came into the building again, the entire line practically broke into a riot. Angry Spanish was spewed; tempers flared. It was not a pretty sight, and when I finally left there  with package in hand, I saw that someone had blocked my car in!

What. The. Hell.

About 10 minutes later, the person whose car was preventing me from living the post office from hell finally came out and moved their vehicle. Needless to say, I was just so ANNOYED with the hood. These kinds of incident would never happen elsewhere! Whenever frustrating situations like this arise, I just have to keep reminding myself that I only have to deal with this for a few more months. I’ve made it 9 months here; I can do two more!

The lesson learned from this? Good things come to those who wait.

Anthropologie brightens up any bad day, especially when it comes in the form of a dress!

So happy to have a new sundress! I love how simple and understated it is….just my style. The details on the bottom are my favorite part. Thanks Mom!

After the post office ordeal, I was more than ready for lunch. I ate up the last of my pumpkin curry quinoa.

Garnished with coconut and pine nuts:

I’m sad to see this stuff end.

I topped off the meal with some ripe berries. It’s amazing how much better berries taste when they’re in season!

With the rest of my day free, I’m going to do the following:

  1. Avoid the post office like the plague.
  2. Do a quick workout at the gym.
  3. CLEAN my messy apartment.
  4. Hit up Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s for some portable snacks.

I’ll tell you why in my post tonight. Later gators!

2 responses to “Ghetto Not So Fabulous

  1. Katherine: What About Summer?

    I love this post. So many things are not easy; I actually enjoy your griping (I can relate to some of it). Anthropologie always makes me feel put together; cute dress!
    Katherine

  2. Thanks! I’m glad somebody likes my griping. 🙂

Leave a Reply

