So fresh and so green

This morning, I woke up with the burning desire for something green for breakfast.

I decided to go with a Smoothie in a Bowl (SIAB) a la Kath.

To make a green monster with heft, I combined the following:

  • 1/2 cup soy milk, 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • scoop Vega Vanilla Chai protein powder
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1/4 cup Coach’s Oats
  • 1T flax
  • 2 large handfuls of spinach
  • ice

I blended it up until the texture met my satisfaction (thick, thick, thick!) and sprinkled with 1T of Udi’s granola for crunch.

I love the color here. So green!

With some coffee and soy creamer:

This breakfast is one of my favorites. It combines veggies with healthy carbs (oatmeal!), healthy fats (avocado… though I usually use nut butter in my SIABs), fruit, and protein (the Vega Vanilla Chai powder, which I highly recommend! It tastes delicious and has great nutritional stats) to make a smoothie with real staying power.

2 responses to “So fresh and so green

  1. Tell me more about the Chai powder — I’ve been considering it (though it’s VERY pricey!). Does it actually taste like Chai? I use peanut butter in my green monsters, which is the dominant flavor. I’m wondering what the change would be. Have you tried any of the other Vega flavors?

    • Haven’t tried any of the other Vega flavors, but I LOVE the vanilla chai. It is expensive, but I think it’s worth it. It really does taste like chai (or at least it does once you’ve added the banana to the blend, which ups the sweetness factor). If you use the Vanilla Chai powder in your smoothie, it will probably override the peanut butter flavor. The combo of nanner + chai though is worth it, in my opinion! I definitely prefer Vega to Amazing Grass (another one I’ve tried), and am going to seek out the chocolate flavor in the Vega line once I get through my chocolate Amazing Grass powder.

Leave a Reply

