Breakfast from the Black Lagoon

I woke up this morning hungry and sore from the previous day’s activities. I knew I wanted something cold and green monstery to boost my energy levels, but a part of me also wanted some delicious hot oats. Usually, I add raw oats to my green monster and just blend away, but I felt like doing something different today. I thought to myself, why not combine the two parfait-style???

Once again, the mad scientist in me emerged to create a breakfast that looked like something you could assemble using specimens collected from a swamp. Check it out:

So attractive….right?

To create my swampland breakfast, I started off by whipping a small portion of chocolate-y oats.

In the mix:

  • scant 1/4 cup Coach’s Oats
  • 1 heaping t cocoa powder, pinch salt
  • 1/2 nanner whipped
  • 1/3 cup soy milk, 2/3 cup water

While the oats were cooking, I assembled a chocolate-y green monster using the following ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup soy milk, 1/2 cup water
  • three handfuls of spinach
  • scoop Chocolate Amazing Grass
  • 1/2 t Bob’s Red Mill xantham gum (helps thicken)
  • 1T chia
  • 1/2 frozen nanner
  • ice

Originally, I was going to try to layer the oats and the GM with a peanut butter sauce I created using 2T soy milk and 1.5 T peanut butter. But it didn’t make enough to actually use as a layering component. I instead decided to plop it on top once I had finishing assembling the GM and oat layers of my swamp parfait.

The final result?

Something that looked a little scary, but it tasted decent enough.

After mixing in the peanut butter sauce blob:

I don’t think I would make this kind of hot/cold breakfast parfait again because it made everything lukewarm. I like my oats hot, and I like my green monster’s cold, so this just wasn’t as satisfying to me as I hoped it would be. Taste-wise, the combination of these chocolate-y layers was a winner, but temperature-wise, the combination just didn’t do it for me. This could be a personal preference thing though…I’m one of those people who hates melted ice cream, and this breakfast had a similar quality to it.

I had some leftover chocolate-y green monster that didn’t make it into the parfait glass, so I finished my b-fast by eating the rest of that too. I actually enjoyed the GM by itself far more than the parfait combo.

Nothing melted or lukewarm here!

I enjoyed my little breakfast parfait even though it wasn’t a total success. I figure, you can’t make amazing food discoveries unless you’re willing to experiment a little.

On tap for the rest of today is some easy yoga to stretch out my sore legs and a trip down to New London to visit some family members who are in CT for my cousin’s graduation at the Coast Guard Academy. I’ve gots to get ready now…adios!

Leave a Reply

