A Meaty Affair

Whew….I’m tired! I just got back from a rather long day spent with the family down in New London. My cousin is graduating from the Coast Guard Academy, so I was invited to drive from Hartford and partake in some of the pre-graduation festivities this weekend.

I made it just in time for the post-Baccalaureate lunch buffet.

The spread was decent (nothing compared to my alma mater’s food though…Bowdoin was known for having the #1 or #2 college food in the country at any given time..not to brag or anything!). They had some good salad options, but I was mildly disappointed that there were only meat options for protein.

Just for the record, I am not a vegetarian nor do I intend to become one, but I generally prefer to eat vegetarian about 75% of the time. Grumble, grumble…I just don’t like being forced to eat meat out of lack of other options. Not to worry though…I didn’t make a big fuss or become disgruntled. I decided to roll with some marinated chicken breast.

My plate:

Half a corn on the cob, a yummy vegetable pasta salad, caesar salad, chicken, and watermelon! I made a pretty good dent in this plate, leaving only a bit of chicken breast. Everything was pretty good, but the chicken was super salty! I was chugging water the rest of the day to compensate for it…sometimes, I wish I wasn’t so sensitive to salty foods. I feel like I am much more affected by sodium concentration than many others. In the end though, it’s probably a good thing that I don’t load my food with salt all the time.

My uncle then bought us all beers. I wasn’t going to have one, but when I saw that they had a Belgian wheat ale (Hello Shocktop!) on-tap, I knew I had to have a cup.

I had a third of this before I gave the rest to my family. Beer feels so heavy in your stomach if you drink it right after a meal!

It was nice spending some quality time with the fam.

We then ventured to my aunt and uncle’s beach house where we relaxed and watched tv for the rest of the afternoon. I had a few snacks around 5:00PM in order to tide me over till a planned late dinner around 9:00. I munched on:

An apple!

And….

My new favorite LaraBar flavor…move over Peanut Butter Cookie, a new flavor’s in town! I highly recommend this bar; it tastes like a coconut macaroon, but includes very healthy ingredients.

We headed back to the Academy grounds around 7:00 to watch my cousin’s Drill Ceremony at 7:30. It lasted about an hour or so, and was fun to watch. I always love a good marching band! 🙂

By the time we returned to the house around 8:45, my aunt and uncle had finished preparing dinner, and I was ready to eat my arm. Note to self: don’t ever wait till 9:00 to eat again! In my hungered frenzy, I forgot to whip out my camera to take a picture (bad food blogger!), but for the record, I had a plain baked potato (no butter), sauteed spinach with lemon and garlic (sauteed in butter of course), a simple greens salad with lite Caesar dressing, and prime rib.

Again, I went with a meat option that I probably wouldn’t have selected otherwise. I don’t really care for prime rib, and I would never choose it off a restaurant menu even if I was in the mood for some meat (I’m more a filet mignon kind of gal). But I thought to myself…is it really worth it to make a fuss over prime rib? The answer, in my opinion, is no. I didn’t fuss about it or request a separate entree. I ate my prime rib, knowing that this is not the way I normally eat and moved on. Sometimes, it’s okay to deviate from the plan and just go with the flow. It makes life more enjoyable.

I nibbled on a few strawberries for dessert (also unphotographed, but know that they were ripe and delicious).

It is now way later than I intended on being up, and the bed beckons. Nite!

2 responses to “A Meaty Affair

  1. Lindsay,
    I thought I was alone in being so sensitive to salt. Grampa now asks me before he adds salt to recipe. Love the blog. It’s like being with you, but not being a nosy nellie. Love G. Jan

    • So you’re the one I have to blame for my salt sensitivity? 🙂 Like I said, it’s probably better in the end that we can’t tolerate loading up our foods with salt. I only add the tiniest of tiny amounts when I use it in cooking…just to bring out flavor. Any more than that and I’m chugging water all day long.

Leave a Reply

