Simply Cinnamon

This morning, I was in the mood for a yogurt-based variation on oatmeal: OVERNIGHT OATS!

For those who haven’t heard of this, overnight oats are a muesli-like blend of oats, milk, and yogurt. When allowed to soak overnight in the yogurt, the oats will absorb the milk and soften up. By the time you eat them in the morning, the overnight oats will have acquired a thick, dough-like texture.

I haven’t had made a batch in what seem like forever (probably because the cool weather around here has been making me crave hot oats!). Besides that, I sometimes forget to prep them the night before (they are called overnight oats for a reason after all…), but not last night!

The key to a beautiful bowl of overnight oats? Chia seeds and cinnamon! Chia seeds add a wonderful chewy texture to the oats because they will soak up the milk and swell; cinnamon gives the Greek yogurt a dash of flavor depth and complexity. To make the simplest, but most delicious overnight oats you’ve ever had, add 1/3 cup rolled oats (or alternatively 1/4 cup quick oats…I used Coach’s Oats for this batch) and 1T chia seeds to a bowl.

Does this picture remind anyone else of a psychedelic yin and yang sign? That’s immediately what I thought of when I saw this. The bowl’s pattern makes for a particularly trippy background!

Then add 1/2 cup milk of your choice (I happen to have soy milk on hand) and 1/2 cup Greek yogurt to bowl, and mix! It creates a soupy looking mess like this:

Now the important part. Add a TON of cinnamon and a pinch of salt to the bowl, so it resembles this:

Swirled in….

Swirled things make me happy…

Now place in the fridge for the rest of the night (covered or uncovered, it doesn’t matter). Say goodbye to it, and like a good little kid on x-mas eve, try not to peak before the morning! It’ll ruin the surprise!

Goodnight oats!

In the morning, remove it from the fridge and revel in the thickness of its texture. Add to the mix half a chopped banana plus some berries. Today, I selected some beautiful blueberries. Arrange in an artful fashion, should you wish to do so.

Symmetric fruit arrangements are just more fun!

Now, dollop 1T of heated nut butter onto the mix. To continue the cinnamon theme, I added a big blob of my homemade cinnamon almond butter.

Mmmmm…..cinnamon. Now mix it all up and feast!

I hope this inspires you to make your own Simply Cinnamon Overnight Oats!

I’m off to the gym and then to work…it always does me good to start my Monday off with a little exercise and movement!

4 responses to “Simply Cinnamon

  1. peanutbutterfingers

    your cinnamon swirl looks professional! yummy yummy in mah tummy! 😀

  2. Now you’ve got me craving cinnamon! Sometimes I forget about my little spices in the cabinet. No wonder I get bored with foods so easily 🙂

  3. Cinnamon makes everything better and dessert like!! 🙂 I love adding blueberries to my oats too!! 🙂

  4. woot chia seeds– my new favorite thing! i love that you update so often, your posts are so enjoyable to read:)

Leave a Reply

