Blobs and Burritos

Yet again, I went to bed later than I intended to last night. I don’t know why, but I always manage to fritter away the hours between 10PM and midnight when I know I should be in bed sleeping. I never manage to do anything remotely productive during those two hours, so why? Why do I always stay up? Can someone explain me to me? 🙂

I woke up on the groggy side this morning, but I knew it was nothing some oatmeal and coffee couldn’t cure.

In today’s bowl, I used my homemade nut butters to excellent effect, adding a blob of honey cashew-coconut butter (which I had to heat up in the microwave this morning…it solidified in the fridge overnight, but the microwave worked its magic to make it nice and melty again), my last blob of cinnamon almond butter, and a blob of raspberry preserves.

In today’s bowl:

  • 1/3 cup Coach’s Oats
  • 1/2 nanner whipped into the mix
  • cinnamon, pinch salt, vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup soymilk, 2/3 cup water
  • 1t cinnamon almond butter
  • 1T honey cashew-coconut butter
  • 1/2 T raspberry preserves
  • 2T Udi’s granola

With some coffee:

This was honestly one of my best bowls of oats yet. The combination of the cashew-coconut butter with the raspberry preserves was particularly wonderful. This bowl had great flavor (thanks to the ripe banana I whipped into it), texture (courtesy of the Granola), and nut butter blobs! I could eat this everyday…

My oatmeal breakfast held me over very well during my workout at the gym. Using some of the tips I posted yesterday, I mixed some arms strength training with some cardio. I did shoulder presses, pushups, chest presses, lateral raises, frontal raises, crunches, and a few other random arm exercises that left them quivering. To keep my heart rate up, I jumped onto the treadmil every so often for 5 minutes of intervals (alternated between 45sec moderate pace with 45 sec fast pace). I finished with 20 minutes of steady-state on the elliptical and stretching.

Lunch was just what I was craving: a huge Chipotle-style veggie burrito!

I wanted to make a “healthy” version of Chipotle for my burrito, so I added 1/2 cup black beans, spinach, sauteed bell pepper, 1/4 chopped avocado, salsa, and Greek yogurt (acted as a sub for the sour cream) to a Flat-Out wrap.

I also sprinkled some cumin and hot chile powder on top to amp up the flavor.

Honestly, it’s amazing I was able to roll this thing up, but I somehow managed.

My burrito was muy grande. Check out the size comparison with my computer keyboard:

Notice the terrible aluminum-wrapping job. While I managed to make a healthier burrito, Chipotle is still much better at wrapping their burritos up nice and neat. Mine was close to exploding, but the aluminum kept it all contained.

The combination of flavors in this burrito was wonderful. The most important addition was this salsa I got from Whole Foods a while back:

Definitely get this salsa if you ever have the chance. It’s the best I’ve had in years…far surpassing the bottle of TJ’s fire-roasted salsa I just finished. It’s a refreshing combination of spicy and sweet. It made my burrito taste practically gourmet!

Since my massive burrito was jam-packed with protein, healthy carbs, healthy fat, and veggies, I decided I didn’t need to have anything else on the side except a fruit component. I selected an apple to round out my meal.

Snack this afternoon will be a Clif Mojo bar I bought for my hike on Saturday but didn’t end up eating.

It’s 70% organic and has decent nutritional stats. The ingredient list on this is a bit iffy (what exactly is the 30% of stuff in it that’s not organic?), but I’ve enjoyed this bar in the past and probably will enjoy it again this afternoon. I love salty and sweet combos!

What’s your favorite salty and sweet snack combination?

2 responses to “Blobs and Burritos

  1. Honey cashew coconut butter sounds like the most amazing thing ever! I love the salty sweet combo too . . . my fave used to be yogurt covered pretzels, but I’m not sure they make a vegan version? Must investigate!

  2. If you have a food processor, you should definitely try making it. It’s sooo good…I have to put it out of view, so I stop taking bites of it! 🙂 I might rename it “Crack Butter”. It’s addicting…

    Yogurt-covered pretzels are definitely a delicious salty-sweet combo. Maybe they have soy yogurt-covered pretzels out there for vegans? Just a thought…

Leave a Reply

