Back to Basics

I finally got caught up on my LOST episodes last night, and I’m soooo pumped for the finale! I can’t believe that we’re finally coming to the end of the road after six seasons of twists and turns. I hope it lives up to my expectations.

Any other Losties out there? Are you excited for the finale?

When I woke up this morning, I went back to my basic whipped banana oatmeal with peanut butter for breakfast. After experimenting with other nut butters for the past couple of days, I knew it was time to return to my beloved PB and oats combo. What goes better than nanners, PB, and oats? Very few things, I will tell you.

I kept it simple for today’s bowl.

In the mix:

  • 1/3 cup Coach’s Oats
  • 1/3 cup soy milk, 2/3 cup water
  • 1/2 whipped nanner
  • pinch salt
  • 1T flax
  • 2T Bear Fit Naked Granola
  • 1T Justin’s honey peanut butter
  • a few blueberries on top

I would have included a few more pictures of the oats, but my camera’s battery died immediately after this picture was taken. Regardless, it was nice to get my beloved peanut butter back into my oaty life again. I love you, PB, even when I stray to other nut butters on occasion. 🙂

I went to the gym later for a Back to Basics workout. After warming up for 5 minutes on the elliptical, I did three sets each of Romanian deadlifts, lunges w/knee lifts, plie squats with calf raises, squats with leglifts, crunches, and medicine ball twists interspersed with a 5-minute hill interval sessions on the treadmill to keep the heart rate high. I finished off with an easy 25 minutes on the elliptical and a half-hearted attempt at stretching before I had to race off to shower and go to work. Even though I wasn’t technically doing cardio when I was doing all my squats and lunges, my heart was pounding hard during my sets! Are we sure that lunges and squats aren’t cardio? Holy crap…my heartrate felt like it was higher during my squats sets than when I did the elliptical later. Crazy!

For lunch, I went back to basics again with some LEFTOVERS from my tofu and veggie stirfry. Sometimes, it’s nice not to have to worry about packing up all the various elements of my lunch the night before. Plus, I love how stir-frys become more flavorful when they spend some time in the fridge.

Served with the other portion of brown rice:

Plus the last of my strawberries.

Afternoon snack will be 1/2 cup Chobani Greek yogurt (0%) that I mixed up with cinnamon for flavah.  I also packed a 1/4 cup of this cereal to sprinkle on top.

This is one of my favs even though I’m not a big cereal person. Compared to many cereals, it has lower-than-average sugar content (7g a serving) plus 9g fiber and 9g protein. Solid cereal nutritional stats, if you ask me.

In their separate containers (to avoid cereal sogginess!):

I have to run now. I’m taking one of my residents to a doctor’s appointment at one of the community clinics nearby in a few minutes.

Hope you all are enjoying the day. It’s beautiful outside here in Hartford. Clearest of blue skies, just like I like it. 🙂

2 responses to “Back to Basics

  1. I am 100% with you, nothing goes better in oats and banana than Peanut butter!! I’ve tried almond butter and other nut butters, but for some reason, peanut tastes best in butter form. 🙂 YUM!

    • Peanut butter is the ultimate in nut butters. It is the first one I was introduced to (back when I was little), and it’s the one I’ll always return to. It’s only in the last year or so that I’ve started experimenting with other nut butters.

Leave a Reply

