Made of Molasses

Hello all,

my cousin’s graduation today went well in spite of the weather. It was pretty blah and dreary-looking throughout the ceremony. Cold and misty too (which made my curly hair nice and frizzy…sigh…).

Then again, it could have been much worse, I’m sure.

It was so exciting seeing my cousin graduate! We are all VERY proud of him.

That’s him getting his diploma and commission from the Coast Guard! Way to go, James!

The ceremony lasted forever and a day though….the Coast Guard Academy was graduating about 200 cadets, yet the ceremony took almost 2.5 hrs! Needless to say, right after my cousin’s name was called, I zoned out the rest of the names.

My stomach didn’t zone out though…it started grumbling around 12:30 at which point I whipped out a Larabar I grabbed on a whim this morning as I left the apartment.

It kept my hunger at bay until we finally got back to my aunt and uncle’s house at 3:00 (!). We didn’t end up eating till about 3:45 or so…and by that time, I was reallllllllly hungry. I didn’t take a picture of what I ate because the food came out in waves, and I didn’t really feel like busting out the camera to take pictures of food every 10 minutes. To be honest, I was also worried that my family would make fun of me for my strange new hobby….I’m still getting used to this whole food blogger thing. I hope that by the time the next family event rolls around, I’ll be more mentally prepared to bust out the camera when the food comes out.

For now though…I’ll just give you a report of what I ate, and you’ll have to take me on my word. πŸ™‚

I had a big helping of salad with light balsamic dressing, sauteed lemon spinach, baked potato with a little buttah, small filet mignon (now this is the type of meat I’ll go for…), and a couple hunks of buttery garlic bread. All of the above was delicious. Dessert was a small piece of homemade carrot cake (one of my favs!). This cake was really good too…nice and moist.

This meal was plentiful and rich, so I knew I wouldn’t need a very substantial dinner tonight. Around 8:00, I felt a little hungry, so I opened up the freezer and used up one of my Amy’s black bean burritos. These were an impulse purchase from Whole Foods that I had forgotten about, so I’m glad I had the opportunity to eat one tonight.

It was surprisingly tasty for a frozen meal. Amy’s always has quality products.

After this, I decided to have some more fun with my mini food processor (minus the binge crisis of yesterday).

I present to you my latest creation: Gingerbread Walnut Butter

This nut butter tastes like a ginger bread cookie. I’m not kidding. It will take you right back to your favorite x-mas memories when you make this.

To start, I took 1 cup of walnuts I had stored in my pantry and dry roasted them on the stovetop. Roasting them helps draw out the nutty flavor.

After the walnuts had browned sufficiently, I dumped them in my mini along with the following ingredients:

  • 1T molasses
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t ginger
  • 1/4 t cloves
  • 1/8 t salt

I processed for about 10 minutes and wound up with this:

The perfect combo of nutty and sweet and buttery. This nut butter is a winner.

Is it strange that the first thing I always envision when I make a nut butter is how well it would go in oats? I could see it being an amazing addition to some pumpkin oats!

Instead of licking the spoon every five seconds like I did yesterday, I decided to wait until I was all done processing and then allot myself a portion as a snack.

I ate 1T of my gingerbread walnut butter with an apple as my dessert for the evening. This was like fall and christmas come alive. Mmmmmm….

The key addition to this nut butter was the molasses.

It gave my nut butter that signature gingerbread flavor! My only complain would be that molasses does make things stickier than they would otherwise be…when I make this again, I might try roasting them in the oven with the molasses coated on first. I will experiment again at some point and report back to you all.

Night!

2 responses to “Made of Molasses

  1. Wow, that walnut butter creation looks and sounds absolutely DELICIOUS!!!! I have when nut butters are too thick, but your creamy concoction is totally up my alley. Walnuts definitely taste better with sugar or salt on ’em (wow, i’m gonna get stoned by some health bloggers…) but I sincerely and truly believe that. hehehe πŸ™‚

  2. Oh definitely. Nut butter flavahs are always enhanced by the addition of a little salt and sugar. And yes, the walnut butter creation is delicious! πŸ™‚ I keep envisioning ways of using it in my morning breakfasts!

Leave a Reply

