Cap’n Crunch

It’s Friiiiiiiiiday! I can’t believe this week went by so fast.

Just for the two of you who were interested, no dessert went down last night. I figured, if I’m not feeling it, don’t force it. Better to save my dessert urges for times when I really need it! You know those times…when the only thing that will complete your day is a bit of dark chocolate.

I slept surprisingly well last night, so I bounded out of bed this morning with a spring in my step. The sun shone; the birds chirped (okay, there are no birds here in Da Hood; but I can pretend, can’t I?). I craved something light and summery to accompany the beautiful morning.

I decided to make a simple green monster and top it with some of my Nature’s Path Optimum Slim cereal instead of my usual granola. It made a great, crunchy addition to my SIAB.

In this morning’s Cap’n Crunch Green Monster:

  • 1/2 cup soy milk, 1/2 cup water
  • three handfuls spinach
  • scoop Vega Vanilla Chai health optimizer
  • 1/2 frozen nanner
  • 1T wheat germ
  • 1T honey cashew coconut-butter (aka. crack butter)
  • 1/2 cup Optimum Slim Cereal
  • ice

Oh, here’s the nut butter! It was hiding beneath all the cereal.

Adding cereal was a fun change-up from granola because you get more volume for your caloric bang. I was able to add a 1/2 cup cereal to the bowl for the same amount of calories as a 1/4 cup granola. The extra cereal added to the SIAB made for some crunch in every bite!

Accompanied with some java, per usual.

Gotta head out to an AmeriCorps meeting. Happy Friday, bloggies!

QUESTION: What was your favorite cereal when you were a kid?

I loved Honey Nut Cheerios!

4 responses to “Cap’n Crunch

  1. I know this is good because you’ve made it for me before, but i STILL can’t get past the color- I have to stop myself from adding tortilla chips and dipping! sorry.

    • Well, it’s your loss. My Green Monsters are delicious and nutritious. So there! πŸ™‚ Plus, I like the color. How can you hate on the green? Honestly, now.

  2. nut butter…(giggles)

    I read this blog whenever you link to it. You can now count 3 followers!

    • Yayyyyyy! I’m glad you’re a follower now! πŸ™‚

      Btw, I have a special Lost-themed dinner planned for Sunday’s blog post that I know you’ll appreciate. I’m going to try to make it as ridiculous as possible!

Leave a Reply

