Tropically Refreshing

With the summer heat settling into my apartment last night, I set about preparing a breakfast that would cool me off in a way that only tropical foods can manage. I looked into my fridge for some tropical goods, but none were to be found. Only a few mangy-looking bananas were left in my sad, little produce bin. Were my tropical breakfast dreams to be crushed so soon???

Luckily, I remembered that I bought some frozen pineapple and mango from TJ’s a few eons ago and threw them in the freezer immediately after purchase. After scouring the inner belly and deepest crannies of my freezer (gulp…lord knows what you’ll find in there!), I finally rediscovered the tropical fruit stash! YES!

For my breakfast this morning, I present to you Tropically Refreshing Overnight Oats.

I swear I put tropical fruit in that bowl! They’re just hidden within the depths of the Greek yogurt.

In today’s bowl:

  • 1/4 cup Coach’s Oats
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup soy milk
  • 1T chia seeds
  • 1/3 cup mango chunks
  • 1/3 cup pineapple chunks
  • handful of blueberries
  • 1T honey cashew-coconut butter
  • 2T unsweetened coconut flakes

The combination of the coconut elements and the tropical fruits took me right back to my trip to the Tahitian islands. It cooled me right off….and it was fun changing up my overnight oats routine. Usually, I stick with my tried-and-true banana slices, but the pineapple/mango gave a nice tang to the bowl that you just can’t get with banana alone.

I keep looking for any hint of pineapple/mango chunks in these pictures, but I can’t find any! It’s like Where’s Waldo. If I had had any kiwi on-hand, I would have thrown those into the mix as well (instead of the blueberries).

With some cwah-fee plus soy creamer and truvia:

As I said last night, I’m heading up this morning to Portsmouth, NH to visit Pete. Per his request, I’m bringing along my honey cashew-coconut butter and gingerbread walnut butter for him to sample. He’s been curious about them since I keep raving about them both on the blog and on the phone when we chat. He’ll  act as an official nut butter taste-tester for me. Up to this point, I’ve been the only person to try my nut butter creations. Hopefully, they’ll get the thumbs up! 🙂

Question: Have you ever vacationed in the tropics??? What was your favorite thing you did there?

I went to the tropics for the first time this past June when I went to Tahiti with my mom after my college graduation. My favorite activity was snorkeling! I had never done it before, and it was just so much fun to be able to swim in water so clear and warm. A far cry from Maine’s icy waters…I loved it. I also loved eating fresh coconut and fruit all the time! Guess there was a lot I liked about my tropical vacation!

Leave a Reply

