LOST-Themed Dinner!

Today has been a day of bed rest. Ugh….not fun. I took an Advil about an hour ago or so, and it’s finally starting to kick in. Whootwhoot! Thank god for modern medicine. 🙂 So now that I’m feeling good enough to blog, I shall do so.

A recap of my Portsmouth eats on Sunday:

Vegetable and swiss quiche with fruit for brunch.

A smoothie snack in the afternoon. I chose the Prana smoothie, and loved it!

And then, a LOST-themed dinner to honor the show’s departure from the airwaves last night.

To invokes visions of the island from LOST, I decided to base my meal around the lovely coconut. I incorporated coconut into every component of the meal to maximize the tropical feel of the meal!  I can vouch for the meal’s ability to transport you right into the tropical jungles and beaches of LOST! Jack Shepherd and John Locke would approve…

Here are the recipes:

Coconut Salmon with Tropical Relish

  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • Salmon filet
  • curry powder
  1. Brush 1tsp coconut oil and sprinkle curry powder onto each salmon filet.
  2. Broil filets 1 min for each 0.1″ thickness (i.e. a 1″ thick filet would be broiled for 10 minutes). I broiled mine for 8 minutes.
  3. Top filet with tropical relish.

Tropical Relish

  • 1/2 cup mango, diced
  • 1/2 cup pineapple, diced
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • 1 roma tomato, chopped
  • 1/2 red onion, diced

Mix ingredients in a bowl and serve atop salmon filets.

Curry Coconut Brown Rice


  • 1 cup brown rice
  • 1 cup light coconut milk
  • 1 cup water
  • 1T coconut oil
  • 1t curry powder
  • 1/2 t curry paste
  • coconut flakes (optional)

For this recipe, I was inspired by Ashley’s Creamy Coconut Brown Rice. I decided to add the curry powder and paste for a mild hint of curry to accompany the coconut flavor. Definitely try this recipe (or my curry variation) out. It’s creamy and amazing…a real rice treat! 🙂

To start, mix brown rice, coconut milk, water, curry powder, and curry paste until the curry has fully dissolved in the liquid. Then, bring liquid to a boil. Once a boil has been achieved, reduce heat to a simmer, cover with lid, and simmer for 25-30 minutes. Remove rice from heat, and let sit for 10 minutes. Remove cover and fluff with a fork. Garnish with coconut flakes.

Coconut Oil Snow Pea Stir-Fry

  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 pound snow peas

In a wok or large skillet, heat coconut oil over medium heat. Add snow peas to pan, and sautee until crisp-tender (about 5-7 minutes).

Coconut Dark Chocolate Bars

  • 1 bar dark chocolate (I used a 90% dark chocolate bar made by Lindt)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 2T agave nectar
  • 2T coconut flakes

Melt dark chocolate in a double boiler. Add coconut oil and agave nectar to chocolate, and mix. Pour chocolate mix into a pre-greased container (or one lined with parchment paper). Place container in refrigerator for 3o minutes. Top with coconut flakes. Place back in fridge for another 30 minutes. Remove and cut into bars.

My makeshift double boiler:

A little ghetto, but that’s how I roll.

Hope you enjoy the recipes! I’m hoping that I’ll still feel well enough to blog later again today, but we’ll see. Right now, I’m enjoying my Advil-induced sense of well-being. 🙂

6 responses to “LOST-Themed Dinner!

  1. Oh my gosh!!!!! How delicious does all of this look?? What a great idea to add to the rice…ahhh love that coconut rice. What a yummy simple dessert too 🙂

  2. Your dessert looks so chocolately and rich. And smoothies with dates are incredible; I’ve only had one once, in Israel, and it was one of the best smoothies I’ve ever had. Your prana one sounds really good too.

    • The prana smoothie was amazing. I will definitely try adding dates to my future green monsters. I have some medjools in the fridge just waiting to be used up!

  3. Ahhh! So jealous of your gas stove :P! Where do you get the coconut oil? I may not be able to get it here, because I live in a pretty small town, but I guess I’ve never looked for it either…

  4. My gas stove looks awesome, but it’s a bit of a clunker. It’s settings are either HIGH or off. I’ve had to tinker it with it for the longest time to get it to go to low or medium heat. Lol. I’ve burned some things in the process.

    I found my coconut oil at Whole Foods. I imagine you might be able to find it if you have any kind of natural grocery store or market in your town. It’s certainly not the easiest thing in the world to find, but ya never know. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

