Up and Down and Up and Down

This fever has been wreaking all kinds of havoc on my body. Just a few hours ago, it was at a high of 103.5, but since I’ve taken another dose of Advil, it’s come back down again. I’ve been sweaty; I’ve had chills. I’ve been up; I’ve been down. I’ve felt good enough to blog; I’ve felt like sleeping the day away.

Now that the Advil has kicked in again (and I’m sweating the fever away), I’m going to blog the eats of a sick person.

Read: lots of comfort food and carbs. 🙂

Breakfast was simple whipped banana oats with PB. Nothin’ fancy. I just wanted something super easy. I didn’t have the energy to fancify it up like I normally do.

In the bowl:

  • 1/3 cup Coach’s Oats
  • 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup soymilk
  • chopped banana
  • 1T Justin’s PB

I couldn’t finish all of this, which is when I realized that I MUST be really sick. I always finish my oats when I’m feeling like my usual self.

I enjoyed my oats with a glass of water instead of coffee. I just didn’t have the stomach for coffee this morning, and I felt water was a better choice.

It’s probably the first time in YEARS that I’ve skipped my morning coffee. So weird.

I didn’t feel like eating lunch until 2 or so after another dose of Advil kicked in. I craved cheese + carbs! I also wanted something really easy to prepare.

Enter the oft-forgotten, but classic grilled cheese sandwich.

This grilled cheese consisted of a slice of provolone pressed on the George Foreman between two slices of buttered Ezekiel bread.

Along with some raspberries + pom seeds for an antioxidant boost.

The rest of the afternoon, I alternated between feeling okay and feeling terrible. I watched a lot of trashy tv (hello Real Housewives of NYC!) and napped a lot.

I also snacked on more carby carbs (i.e. Dr. Krackah and popcorn) when I felt good enough to do so and drank a boatload of water. I have a “hydration station” set up next to my bed at the moment. At one point, I had four glasses of water crowded on top my nightstand.

I didn’t eat dinner until my fever broke again (thanks to another dose of Advil) around 8:00. Before then, it had reached a point where it was above 103. I just hope it doesn’t get to 104; I’ll head to the hospital at that point. 😦 But we’re not there quite yet (thank goodness!). Once I felt good enough to eat dinner, I wanted to make something comforting and easy. I chose oatmeal. Again.

What can I say? I love my oats. This time, I dolled them up savory-style.

In the mix:

  • 1/3 cup Coach’s Oats
  • handful frozen spinach (gotta get my veggies in somewhere today!)
  • 1/2 cup TJ’s whole grain drink, 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 small avocado, chopped
  • 1T nutritional yeast (gives the oats a nutty, cheesy taste that I love!)
  • Amy’s California Veggie Burger, chopped and mixed in
  • handful of shredded pepper jack cheese
  • salsa

I loved this dinner. It was like a healthy, more interesting take on mac and cheese. Savory oats are just so comforting. The perfect sick meal.

Allrighty, well I’m going to lay down for a while and continue sweating out this fever. Hopefully, it doesn’t rise again later on tonight. I’m tired of the ups and downs of this bug that I’ve caught. I can’t wait to return to my regularly-scheduled life activities!

Till tomorrow….

Question: What’s your favorite comfort food to eat when you’re sick?

I think you really can’t go wrong with chicken noodle soup or some toast with cheese!

4 responses to “Up and Down and Up and Down

  1. i’ve got to say, i’ve never thought of a savory take on oats. i think you’ve got something there! hope you’re feeling lots better tomorro.

  2. Katherine: What About Summer?

    when I’m sick, I just want bread. Hope you get to feeling better! drinking water is the best but it’s always the last thing I want when I’m ill

Leave a Reply

