The Release

As the temperatures soared across the Northeast yesterday, my own internal body temperature continued to soar as well. Still up in the 100s…..sigh.

My body’s thermostat seemed to be in sync with whatever evil force was controlling Hartford’s muggy, 98-degree heatwave. I was hot. My apartment was hot. The streets were hot. It was all uncomfortably hot.

Thankfully, I knew release was coming. It had to. It must. I insisted upon it!

When looking at the weather forecast, I saw that storms were coming later in the evening. I just had to survive the day. How I did it, I’m not sure. But know that multiple cold showers certainly helped things.

I also visited an air-conditioned doctor’s office for a while, and being in a cooler environment for a good hour also helped. My mom scared me into getting myself checked out….just to make sure I didn’t have Lyme disease or any weird bacterial infection. I had some blood drawn, and I won’t know the results for a few days. I honestly think this is a virus, but we shall see….

To keep cool throughout this hot and sticky day, I started the day off with a vibrantly green SIAB.

In the bowl:

  • 3/4 frozen nanner
  • 1/2 cup TJ’s whole grain drink, 1/2 cup H2O
  • three handfuls spinach
  • 1/2 small avocado
  • scoop Vega Vanilla Chai
  • 1T chia seeds
  • lots of ice
  • Bear Naked Fit Vanilla-Almond Granola

I went without coffee again today. I just couldn’t handle it. All I’ve been craving is water, water, water. I’ve never been so thirsty and dehydrated in my life. I think the fever + hot weather combo has just robbed me of all liquid in my body. I pounded down four G2 Gatorades over the course of the day yesterday. Even the “Thirst Quencher” couldn’t satiate my crazy thirst.

Lunch was something random that I threw together with the limited goods in my fridge.

On the plate:

Does anyone else think pomegranate seeds look like little rubies? They have such a rich color to them.

I sweat the day away for the remainder of the afternoon while napping and reading. I barely had an appetite by the time dinner rolled around, but thought it would be a good idea to get some nutrients in my system.

Enter dinner.

I had an egg burrito which I made by scrambling 1 egg and 2 egg whites and adding to a Flat Out wrap with some black beans and  tropical relish. I had a side of steamed broccoli for a fierce nutrient punch.

To be honest, I had a hard time eating this meal because it was just so hot, and nothing really tasted that good to me.

As I sat in the dark of my kitchen (I like to sit in the dark when it’s hot out because I’m afraid the light will create more heat!), the rain finally arrived around 11 at night. When it mercifully showed up on Hartford’s doorstep, it didn’t just mist. Oh no. It absolutely poured.

It rained sheets of beautiful, cooling water down into Hartford. I remember standing up at one moment and just standing in front of the window and basking in the cool air. It felt so amazingly good. It was like a gift.

And as it continued to thunder and hail, I began my own release. Once again, the weather gods and I seemed to be on the same page. About the same time that the storm began, my fever started to break without the assistance of Advil.

So I began to sweat and sweat and sweat….I was sweating as much as it was raining outside. I was the weather. I was releasing finally.

….and I was so thankful.

I woke up this morning without a fever. My bedsheets were soaking wet, but I didn’t care. The temperature was much cooler, and I now feel comfortable. I made it; I really did.

I still don’t feel completely recovered yet. I feel weak and tired, so I’m going to take it easy for the rest of the day…but as I type this, I can feel that I’m becoming myself again.

All it took was the release.

2 responses to “The Release

  1. I’m glad you survived the storm (you had me worried for a while)! Also, spinach smoothie? I’m skeptical. How does that not taste gross? I’d try it…but I won’t have a blender for 18 months.

    • It doesn’t taste gross because you can’t taste the spinach in it. I swear! The sweetness of the banana completely overpowers any taste the spinach might offer. All things being equal, spinach is a very mild tasting leafy green, so it blends right in (so to speak) with the other flavors. 🙂 I am positive you would like it. No grassy taste whatsoever.

Leave a Reply

