Wedding Feast

WARNING to all health nuts: DO NOT continue reading this post if you are looking for pictures of salads, fruits, or fresh produce from the farmer’s market. Things of that nature will not be found here.

Nope. Things of the greasy and/or unhealthy nature will be found here. If you’re still craving pictures of vegetables, look for other posts on my blog, or simply abandon ship. Find another blog to suit the vegetable picture cravings. For those who are still with me, brace yourself for images of food at its least vegetable-y. At its least fresh. At its most decadently unhealthy.

Allright, consider yourself sufficiently warned because it’s going to start getting ugly real fast here.

First up to bat is yesterday’s brunch. Pete and I woke up at the crack of 10, so we decided to leisurely make our way to a brunch joint recommended by our friendly concierge!

As soon as I saw the sign, I knew this place was going to deliver.

This was a real diner-type place with a distinct salt-of-the-earth feel to it. The menu featured only the greasiest-sounding breakfasts, so we knew things were looking promising. Pete became excited at this point as it harkened back to his Jersey days when he could frequent establishments like this as often as his little heart desired. Pete is a Jersey boy, for you readers who might be unaware of this. As such, he considers himself an expert in the realm of diners. He granted his Jersey seal of approval to this little place, so obviously, this place was quality.

I ordered a “Breakfast Bowl,” which was described as a mixture of scrambled eggs, homefries, cheddar cheese, and a choice of meat. When faced with the choice of bacon, sausage, or “scrapple” (which was described to me as all the stuff from the pig that they don’t use for sausage or bacon), I became frightened, and chose the bacon. If scrapple isn’t even good enough to be a part of sausage (!), I didn’t want to mess around with it in my food.

This is what arrived at our table.

Oh yeah.

So cheesy and greasy. I enjoyed about 85% of this bowl! And felt full for HOURS afterward. This kind of breakfast lasts you forever. Not the healthiest way to start the day, but I do enjoy a good, greasy diner breakfast now and again.

With out bellies full of grease and coffee, Pete and I headed to the Baltimore Museum of Art where we wandered around for a few hours. The collection there was pretty good, and I thoroughly enjoyed spotting a few Monets and Van Goghs amongst the collection’s many offerings. I love Impressionist work!

We then headed back to the hotel, and prepped for the wedding. It was held in the courtyard of a beautiful, historical building in downtown Baltimore.

After the shortest wedding ceremony I have ever witnessed (15 minutes from start to finish!), everyone headed to the bar and hors d’oeuvres tables for cocktail hour!

Here’s where things got ugly: Enter the cheese table.

Now, I love cheese, but cheese doesn’t always love me back. I’m cursed with a mild lactose intolerance, and sadly enough, cheese doesn’t always sit well in my stomach. I definitely had a bit too many nibbles during the cocktail hour (which went undocumented), but it was all very enjoyable! Pete and I also shared some mini-quiches, potato soup, shrimp, and fruit….I was a happy camper.

I had decided beforehand that I wasn’t going to drink anything at the wedding despite the open bar. I just didn’t want to mess with any dehydration issues so soon after my illness last week. I had a good time nonetheless…

It was a very classy affair.

We eventually made our way to the ballroom where a beautiful table setting awaited us.

These guys caught my eye. Ooooooo….cupcakes!

I knew I had to take a picture with them. They were too cute to resist!

After settling down, we were served our first course: a salad with creamy raspberry dressing, goat cheese, peaches, watermelon, and caramelized pecans.

It was delicious!

The main course was served family-style, so each table received a large portion of each side that we split amongst ourselves.

This was my plate.

I had a serving of buttered white fish (not sure which kind), several boiled and seasoned shrimp, a creamy, Cajun-inspired rice and bean risotto, and an olive tapenade. It’s amazing how much smaller my portions look in the picture, but in all honesty, they were fairly large. I had my fair share of calories in this meal, trust me…I was VERY full at this point.

But, as I’ve mentioned in the past, the dessert stomach knows no such thing as “full”. It will continue as long as there is dessert to be had. So I went and grabbed several chocolate bonbons. I love bonbons! 🙂

I also had the top of one of those cupcakes seen above (I only like the tops!), and a few more bonbons later in the evening. To be honest, I felt pretty gross by the end of the night….I went on chocolate-overload. Ooops… I think I would have done a better job controlling myself at the wedding if I had come up with an “eating game plan” beforehand. I tend to overdo it at occasions like this, where I’m surrounded by tons of amazing food selections. With a few rules and guidelines in my head, I know I could have done a better job navigating the smorgasbord of options and left with a happier stomach. Lesson learned, I guess.

I had a good time nonetheless…as did Pete.

After a few of these bad boys in his system, Pete was ready to take on the dance floor. Actually, he doesn’t even need any alcohol in his system to do the dance floor justice. He loves to dance! And I love dancing with him. We had a good time being goofy.

This was my face after Pete busted out his Michael Jackson dance moves. Gulp…not so much, Pete.

Pete was aghast that I didn’t approve of these “moves”. But it all worked out in the end….

We had a great time at the wedding even though we didn’t know too many people there. Weddings are just such great fun…how can you not have a blast? I certainly did.

Question: How do you navigate eating at special events like weddings? Do you create a “game plan” beforehand, or do you try to eat more intuitively? How much do you let yourself indulge at special events like this? Do tell!

In my case, I think it’s obvious that I indulged a lot. I’m hoping that my eating choices for the upcoming week will balance out this weekend of indulgence. 🙂 Better to make good choices in the future than beat myself up over the choices I’ve already made. It doesn’t do any good except make me feel guilty, which I don’t feel is very healthy or productive!

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday, bloggies!

5 responses to “Wedding Feast

  1. Please, don’t pretend like you didn’t like the dance stylings.

  2. Those cupcakes are almost too cute to eat, and the place settings are almost too lovely to dirty up!
    Looks like you had a marvelous time.

  3. Aw, you look so pretty! Glad you had a fun weekend. Also, inspired by your coconut-milk-based-oats, I thought of you when I put coconut milk in my green monster yesterday! Ah-mazing. Highly recommend. YUM.

    • Thanks love! I’m glad I can inspire coconut creations throughout the Northeast! I will definitely try the coconut milk in the GM at some point. Sounds delish.

Leave a Reply

