Fluffiness

Over the past week and a half or so, I’ve combined complete and total inactivity with a measured increase in indulgent eating. While I wish that the combination of these two trends would bear no impact on my life, I can firmly say that this is not the case. In fact, I think anyone would be able to tell you that such a combination will result in a notably heightened feeling of “fluffiness”.

This is how I’m going to phrase it. Fluffiness.

For some reason or another, I just don’t feel quite like my lean and mean self (well…maybe not so lean or mean…but you get the drift). As Austin Powers might say, “I’ve lost my mojo!” I don’t think I’ve gained a noticeable amount of weight as all my clothes still fit. Yet I can’t shake this feeling of additional fluff around the edges.

A little extra fluff after an indulgent period is no means for alarm, of course. I’m not freaking out; I’m not curling up with the South Beach Diet book as we speak. No…certainly not. Diets are not for me. In fact, I don’t really believe in them. I believe in lifestyle choices and in healthy living. I believe that my food choices should reflect my happy and healthy life outlook. As such, I will attempt to reign in this “fluff” by eating cleanly, intuitively, and with awareness for the remainder of the week. No foods will be off limits, but I will make fruits and veggies a priority for each meal. I will also return to exercise…and hopefully, this fluffy feeling will depart from my life as quickly as it entered it.

So, with Operation De-Fluff underway, I made a breakfast that always starts my day off right. OATS!

In the mix:

  • 1/3 cup Coach’s Oats
  • 1/3 cup TJ’s whole grain drink, 2/3 cup water
  • 1/2 nanner whipped
  • pinch salt, vanilla, cinnamon
  • 1/2T chia
  • 1/2T flaxseed
  • blueberries
  • 1T raw PB
  • shredded coconut
  • Bear Naked Fit granola

It was pretty flippin’ epic. I really liked the addition of the shredded coconut to this bowl.

Just like snow! Served with a cup o’ Joe:

Perfecto.

After digesting for a while, I headed to the gym for a sleepy elliptical session. But alas! I was foiled by Memorial Day! I forgot that just because I had to work today doesn’t mean that anyone else had to. Whoops…with the clock ticking, I decided to return home! I didn’t have enough time to drive out to my usual running spot, and I didn’t feel like doing yoga. So with great hesitation and trepidation, I decided to run in DA HOOD (my lovely neighborhood) for the first time ever. I ran a couple of loops around Trinity College along a route I’ve seen many Trinity students use before, so I knew it would be safe. It also helped that I was carrying pepper spray, and that the campus security guy kept circling around in his car every few minutes to check up on any of the walkers/runners on the route.

With the Trinity College campus security people helping to put my mind at ease, I was able to enjoy a pretty good run.

I ran 4.5 miles in about 46 minutes…a nice leisurely run that got my heart thumping without pushing myself too hard too fast. I wanted my first workout after my illness to me a moderate one, and this fit the bill. It was surprising to realize just how much I’ve missed running since taking a break from it over the past several weeks. In an effort to avoid runner burnout, I have been purposefully doing a lot of cross training. I just want to make sure I’m burnt out on running before I start marathon training. It’s nice to know that I probably won’t be…hopefully, I’ll be able to start this whole marathon training business with gusto and enthusiasm!

Lunch was a hugh jass salad. I’m talking monstrous here. A salad with real girth.

I love a good bucket of vegetables.

Included in this veggie bucket were:

  • spinach
  • red bell pepper matchsticks
  • cucs
  • carrots
  • grape tomats
  • pine nuts
  • 1/2 cup kidney beans
  • homemade dressing of 1t red wine vinegar, 1t balsamic, 1t EVOO, and 1t honey

And I had a side of Dr. Krackah!

Afternoon snack today was a bunch of pistachios.

When I came home from work, I wasn’t really feeling like the typical Memorial Day cookout stuff. Nah…that would be too simple. I instead decided to make a stir-fry dish that could use the basil and eggplant I had stored up in my fridge.

I based my recipe off of this one I saw on Yoga Journal.com. I tweaked it a bit just to make it a little healthier. I reduced the amount of oil used in the stir-fry as well as the amount of sugar/salt in the final product. And it still tastes delicious. Try it out for yourself!

Here’s my variation on it:

Thai-Inspired Sweet and Spicy Eggplant Stir-Fry

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium eggplant, diced into 1-inch squares
  • 1/2 pound broccoli florets
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1/2 cup basil leaves (20 or so), shredded
  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1t red pepper flakes (or to taste)
  • 1T fish sauce
  • 1T white vinegar
  • 2T low sodium soy sauce
  • 1T brown sugar
  • 1T + 1t peanut oil

Directions:

  1. Place wok or large skillet over high heat. Add oil and red pepper flakes to wok, and allow to cook for 15 seconds.
  2. Add eggplant to wok, and stir-fry for 3 minutes.
  3. Add garlic, onion, and broccoli to wok, and stir-fry for another 4 minutes (until broccoli is almost crisp-tender).
  4. Add fish sauce, white vinegar, and soy sauce to wok, and coat vegetables in sauce.
  5. Then add sugar to wok, and stir-fry for another 1-2 minutes.
  6. Remove wok from heat, and mix in the shredded basil.
  7. Serve with brown rice (or regular rice..), and enjoy!

I didn’t really feel like waiting the eons that it takes to prepare brown rice, so I enjoyed my portion of stir-fry over some quick-cooking black pearl rice from Annie Chung.

It’s whole grain, yet it cooks in literally a minute. In a word: awesome!

It also had a pretty cool hue to it as well as nice, chewy texture. A pleasant change-up from brown rice. It absorbed the flavors of the sweet basil sauce very well!

Honestly, this sweet basil stir-fry rocked my socks off. I could see myself subbing a whole bunch of vegetables into the recipe, and loving it. Or maybe trying it out with tofu? The fresh basil is what really makes this dish sing!

For dessert, I tried to adhere to the (rather lax and vague) guidelines of Operation De-Fluff, so instead of drowning in a plateful of chocolate bonbons as I did a few nights ago, I went with a small plate of frozen pineapple and mango chunks along with some pom seeds. An adora chocolate was thrown in there for good measure!

My little rubies. 🙂

With that, I’m going to go read and hit the hay. Hope you all have enjoyed your holiday weekends!

RANDOM QUESTION: What’s your favorite flavor of ice cream to enjoy during the summer months?

I have and will always be a mint chocolate chip gal. Love that stuff.

3 responses to “Fluffiness

  1. Daiquiri Ice is sooo refreshing

  2. Good luck with the defluffing! The mango and pineapple look fantastic.

Leave a Reply

