Adventures At The Climbing Gym

Hello all!

I hope your Saturdays went well. Mine started off with an absurd amount of deep sleep. I slept in till 10:30! That’s practically unheard of for me. During the work week, I generally get up around 7:00 with no problems whatsoever, but not yesterday! I was a bit annoyed that I slept in so late because it made me morning rush to pack up my stuff for Portsmouth a bit hectic. But I guess I can’t complain too much. Sleep is a beautiful thing, and my body must have really needed the sleep!

Once I had arisen from my slumber, I decided to make my self a SIAB. It was probably 90 degrees in my apartment at that point, and it was the only breakfast option I could stomach making. Making anything on the stovetop would have sent me over the edge.

Too. Much. Heat!

I decided to forgo my Vega powder today for a double dose of peanut butter, thus making an incredibly yummy Peanut Butter Banana Green Monster!

In my PB Banana Green monster went:

  • three handfuls of spinach
  • 1 cup milk (replenished my stock!)
  • 2T peanut butter
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1T chia seeds
  • ice
  • 1/2t xanatham

The perfect summer breakfast. It was nice not having the protein powder in there for a change. It allowed the banana and PB flavors to dominate. And since I can’t get enough of the banana and PB flavor combination, I adored this simple but delicious GM.

Snack

By the time I made it up to Pete’s place, I still wasn’t very hungry and didn’t feel like grabbing a late lunch. We instead decided to heat to Starbucks before going to the rock climbing gym to grab a snack that would tide us over till dinner.

I chose a KIND Plus bar.

I really liked this flavor. It was sweet, but not overwhelmingly ย so (unlike a few other KIND bars I’ve sampled int he past), and the nuts added a nice amount of crunch. It kept me satiated and energized throughout the entire climbing session and right up until dinner. I would definitely buy this bar again.

We spent a good two hours at the climbing gym and had a blast! Even though I’m just a beginner, I absolutely love it! We mostly did top-roping, but I also took a few pics of Pete bouldering.

Watch him attempt one of the routes!

And then he fell. Wahwah. I was impressed though!

I attempted a far easier route (I think it’s the easiest route in the bouldering room! lol)…and looked far more awkward. My technique needs some work. A LOT of work.

And then I fell.

Boom.

Looking at these pics, I realize that I’ve kept my arms bent throughout most of the route. Am I supposed to keep them straight and locked to avoid faster arm fatigue? Any rock climbers out there want to give me some tips? Please! I seem to tire so easily on bouldering routes!

Pete made it to the top of my route though! This pic was taken mid-fall after he hit the top hold.

Pete’s got mad rock climbing skillz. ๐Ÿ™‚

Dinner

We left the gym absolutely exhausted! I love how rock climbing can do that to you. It’s so much fun, it barely feel like a workout.

We worked up an appetite with all our monkeying around at the gym. Originally, we were planning to cook-in tonight, but after we had wrapped up our climbing session, we realized that we were both too tired to make it a reality. I don’t think my grip muscles could have handled any chopping and stirring at that point!

Instead, we went to a Thai restaurant, per my request. I love Thailand’s flavorful cuisine!

I shared an order of spring rolls with Pete.

The peanut dipping sauce is always my favorite component of spring rolls! These were light and crunchy. Just the way I like ’em.

Pete also had an order of “Vegetarian Puffs”. I didn’t try any of them because I’m not a big fan of fried foods, but he seemed to enjoy them. And that’s what matters most, of course!

For my entree, I ordered a Hot Basil dish with tofu and vegetables. It was fantastic (even though the accompanying picture is not…my camera had a hard time dealing with the dim restaurant lighting).

I loved how many different kinds of vegetables were in this dish.

Zucchini, broccoli, carrots, bell peppers, onions, green beans. You name it, it was in there. I definitely got my vegetable fix in with this yummy dish.

Pete tried the Pad Thai, and loved it. We both left the restaurant very satisfied with our Thai outing!

Dessert

On hot and humid summer nights, there is nothing I crave more than ice cream. Yesterday evening was particularly muggy, so we went to a local frozen yogurt/ice cream shop down the corner from Pete’s place.

I tried a scoop of the Moosetracks fro yo, which was described to me as a vanilla mixed with fudge swirls and mini peanut butter cups.

Oh, heck yes.

As I’ve said before, chocolate and PB is one of my favorite combinations ever, so I enjoyed every last bite of this perfect summer dessert!

Nomnomnom.

Summertime ice cream is the best!

Question: Have any of you gone rock climbing before?

7 responses to “Adventures At The Climbing Gym

  1. traynharder23

    YES! i love rockclimbing! i havne’ tbeen in a while and i hate not being around it! bouldering is great too !=D

  2. I’m absolutely DYING to go rockclimbing! I used to scamper up the cliffs at Bass Outdoor World when I was younger, and I really wish I could go right about now! Looks like so much fun!

    • It’s more fun than it looks actually! ๐Ÿ™‚ If you ever get the chance, you should definitely try it out. Seems like you’d probably love it!

  3. Hey! Great rockclimbing pictures! I have never gone before..but I think it would be a fun workout to try! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I also love thai food…I usually go for the thai coconut soup or vegetarian pad thai at our local thai place! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Thai Basil dishes are one of my favorites. So delicious, especially when you are tired and hungry.

  5. I eat ice cream year around, but I agree, it’s just THAT much better in the summer! No, I haven’t been rock climbing, but I think that “fun” exercise like that is important to keep it interesting ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  6. Haha, I have been climbing before :P. Arms straight is the best way to hang and rest, or stop to rechalk. otherwise, just keep working at those arm muscles! you’ll be amazed at how much better you get when you’re climbing consistently.

Leave a Reply

