Track Laps And Chocolate Catharsis

I woke up this morning with a huge knot in my stomach. Over the course of the night, my mind pondered over all the big question marks in my life. I woke up feeling tense and stressed. Not the best way to wake up, trust me.

To placate the stress ball in my tummy, I tried out a soothing bowl of oats.

In the mix:

  • 1/3 cup Coach’s Oats
  • pinch salt, vanilla, cinnamon
  • 1/2 nanner whipped
  • 1/3 cup milk, 2/3 cup water
  • 1T wheat germ
  • 1t maca
  • PB sauce (1T PB + 1T milk, nuked in microwave for 30 sec, and stirred)
  • 2T Bear Fit Naked Granola
  • handful of blackberries

Served with some soothing coffee + creamer + Truvia.

Unfortunately, this soothing breakfast did not soothe me. I still felt tense! Perhaps it was the huge hunk of undissolved maca I bit into toward the end of my bowl? That was an unpleasant surprise.

It didn’t help matters that I soon discovered my roommate’s moving boxes in our living room. She leaves within the next few weeks, and this represents the beginning of the end of for me.

The end of my Hartford existence, that is. As excited as I am to leave Hartford, I’m also scared, mostly because it represents the start of several drastic life changes for me.

I’m scared of what will happen when my already long distance relationship goes cross-country long distance.

I’m scared I won’t get into any medical schools.

I’m scared I’ve picked the wrong ones to apply to.

I’m scared that I have no idea what I’m doing with my life. I mean, I think I do. I think I know what I want. But what if I messed up? Even though I have the feeling that I’ll adore Boulder, I’m still scared to start over (again) in another city where I don’t know anybody. It can be intimidating!

With all these thoughts circling throughout my body, I decided to head out on a run. I was late in getting ready for the gym this morning (which didn’t help the stressed out feeling!), so I had no choice but to head to the nearby Trinity College track for a quick run.

I set out with the goal of running maybe a couple miles or so, but I felt that a few extra laps were necessary for therapeutic reasons. Two miles led to three which led to four. I ran around in circles until that horrible, knot-in-stomach feeling subsided. My Garmin died on the run, so I’m not sure how fast I ran. While I normally hate running on the track, the monotony of the track route helped me to focus on running the tension right out of my body. I ran my little heart out on that track.

By the time I returned to my apartment, I felt infinitely better. Running can be such a lovely, cathartic activity. Normally, piano has acted as my catharsis, but I don’t have access to a piano here in Hartford. Now, running and my blog (I heart you, blog!) are my releases. I’m so happy I have these things in my life.

Lunch

Now that I was feeling less stressed out, I was able to enjoy a beautiful, veggie-packed lunch.

I started things off with a salad.

  • Arugula + spinach base
  • Chopped orange bell pepper
  • Grape tomats
  • 1/4 diced avocado
  • sprinkle of feta cheese (I replenished my stock!)
  • Raspberry vinaigrette dressing

Some Oikos plain greek yogurt + strawberries for a protein punch.

Summer strawberries are the best! I love the touch of sweetness they add to plain Greek yogurt.

Side of Whole Foods deli crackers for carbs.

This lunch was very satisfying. I love it when I get to fill my stomach up with loads of veggies, fruit, and healthy fats! It just feels so light and energizing.

This lunch held me over very well. I didn’t get hungry for a snack until about 4:45, which is about an hour later than I normally start feeling hungry.

Snack

Some more pistachios were consumed! I love pistachios. They’re very rich in antioxidants, and they’re also the least-calorically dense nut in the nut realm (49 pistachios has about 160 calories whereas only 24 almonds has the same amount of calories). Not that I have anything against almonds, of course. But it doesn’t hurt to change things up with pistachios! You really can’t go wrong with enjoying a serving of these guys as a snack!

Dinner

I had a phone interview immediately after work, so I didn’t feel like preparing anything fancy for dinner once that had wrapped up.

I went with a simple veggie burger on a toasted Ezekiel english muffin and some roasted green beans.

I used the last of my beloved Amy’s California burgers tonight.

I love that this burger doesn’t have the strange, fake-meat taste that many veggie burgers seem to have.

Good nutritional stats too:

For some additional protein, I added a piece of provolone cheese to the burger. A large blob of organic ketchup was thrown into the mix (primarily for taste purposes), and the resulting burger was then slapped onto the George Foreman. Melted cheese enhances all burger experiences, you know. A word of advice from me to you. 🙂

Mmmmmm….delicious.

Dessert

While running certainly represents a means of catharsis for me, so too does dark chocolate. My 70% cacao bar called out to me from the depths of my pantry tonight after I had finished my burger, and I answered its call with great enthusiasm.

Hello chocolate. I missed you. Soothe my savage soul, please.

The stress left me as soon as I bit into my lovely hunk o’ chocolate.

Goodbye stress. Hello peace and happiness and fluffy, happy things.

I’m feeling better about life now. I learned something of note today:

When in doubt about life and things of this nature, take a run. Then eat some chocolate. Healing shall always ensure.

6 responses to “Track Laps And Chocolate Catharsis

  1. wow everything you eat looks so fresh and delicious!

  2. Glad you were feeling better by the end of the day. I find that when I feel overwhelmed about one thing, it tends to spiral until I’m worried about lots of things. Everything will work out in the end.

    • Thanks Lisa. I hope so! I figure there’s no sense in working myself up into a frenzy about things. What will be will be. So why stress about it?

  3. Run + Chocolate = no-fail stress reliever. Perfect “vices” too 🙂 Everything is going to work itself out in the long run, and you’ll see how all the worrying was for nothing!

Leave a Reply

