Unseasonal Pumpkin Love

I know this isn’t the right season to be discussing pumpkins. June is hardly the time to be waxing poetic about gourds.

But my love of pumpkin does not recognize these ebbs and flows in the seasons. It is constant. Unwavering. Omnipresent. I love pumpkin-flavoured goods anytime and all the time….regardless of the date. While pumpkin consumption is obviously the most satisfying during the fall months, I will eat it at any time of the year, no questions asked.

Beyond the taste, why is it a good idea to include pumpkin in your diet?

Because it’s a true superfood!

  • Pumpkin is full of beta-carotene and antioxidants, which boost the immune system and reduce the risk of cancer.
  • Pupmpkin is high in potassium, a vital electrolyte for athletes, and also contains many important nutrients such as Vitamin C, Vitamin E, calcium, and iron.
  • Pumpkin is naturally low in fat and calories and packed with protein and fiber. One cup of pureed pumpkin contains 50 calories, 0g fat, 3g protein, and 2g fiber.

Canned, pureed pumpkin can be bought virtually year-round at grocery stores, and it is just as nutritious as fresh pumpkin. Not to mention, canned pumpkin is significantly easier to prepare than the fresh stuff.

Using a can opener>struggling with a chef’s knife to break down a gourd

My favorite ways to use pumpkin are in my morning oats, as a yogurt mix-in, and in smoothies! It’s also great as a base for autumn-inspired soups and sauces.

Check out this morning’s pumpkin-y breakfast.

In my Nutty Pumpkin Oats,

  •  1/3 cup Coach’s oats
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 whipped nanner
  • 1/3 cup milk, 2/3 cup water
  • pinch salt, 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1/2t cinnamon, a few shakes of ginger and nutmeg
  • 2T walnuts
  • PB sauce (1T PB +1T milk)
  • 1T cranberry apple jam
  • granola

Lesson of this post?

Embrace the pumpkin! Your taste buds and overall health will thank you.

Question: What’s your favorite way to use pumpkin?

4 responses to “Unseasonal Pumpkin Love

  1. Hell, yeah. I’m already embracing the pumpkin. I just made pumpkin soup, and I also made pumpkin spiced muffins!

  2. I loooove pumpkin and I’ve been hearing all these dire stories about the bad harvest last autumn that could happen again and there could be a national PUMPKIN SHORTAGE. God forbid, man.

    I love pumpkin in muffins and especially in pasta with pumpkin-cheese sauce mmmmmm.

    • A pumpkin shortage????!!!! Say it ain’t so! Maybe I should stock up on Libby’s come my next trip to the grocery store? Gulp…I don’t know what I would do without my pumpkin fix.

      I’m intrigued by this pumpkin cheese sauce. I don’t think I’ve ever had anything like that!

Leave a Reply

