Cookies And Quinoa

I know, I know….You’re probably getting tired of seeing my pumpkin-inspired breakfasts at this point. But any protests about this will fall upon deaf ears (not that I think any of you lovely readers would ever actually protest about such things to me!). You will keep seeing pumpkin A.M. creations until the last hunk of pumpkin from that can of Libby’s is used up. I hate having foods go bad on me, so it’s a matter of honor and pride, you see, to consume all perishable goods in my fridge before they’ve reached their expiration dates. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it! 🙂

My latest pumpkin incarnation is in the form of overnight oats, and boy, was it delicious! People who say they don’t crave pumpkin in the summer are looney tooney because pumpkin is amazing at any time of the year. So without further ado, here’s an overnight oats inspired by that beloved autumnal staple, pumpkin pie!

In the Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats mix:

  • 1/4 Coach’s Oats (or 1/3 cup rolled oats)
  • 1/2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp agave nectar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup milk of choice
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt
  • 1 chopped medjool date (or 5 chopped regular-sized dates)
  • 2 tbsp pepitas
  • 2 tbsp chopped walnuts
  • sprinkle of crushed graham cracker on top (optional)

The agave and date additions gave this the perfect touch of sweetness, evoking pumpkin pies of Thanksgivings past.

Other eats today included:

A pomegranate + mango non green-monstery smoothie

If I had had any spinach on hand when I made this, I would have made this a GM, and it probably would have turned a putrid color of brownish-green. Instead, it’s a lovely pink color….it goes to show you that green isn’t always required to achieve smoothie nirvana.

This smoothie was surprisingly thick (almost ice cream-like) because I included more xantham gum than normal. It almost made it too thick! Gasp….didn’t think such a thing was possible, but I met my match with today’s creation. I actually had to eat it using a spoon. Normally, this doesn’t bother me, but I felt more like sipping my smoothie this afternoon. Regardless, it was tasty.

In the thiiiiiiick smoothie mix:

  • 1/2 scoop Amazing Grass pomegranate-mango powder
  • 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup water
  • 1tsp xantham gum
  • 1/2 cup frozen mango
  • 4 ice cubes
  • handful of frozen pomegranate seeds
  • sprinkle of shredded unsweetened coconut

I was planning on use this smoothie as a pre-workout snack, but that didn’t go according to plan. Nappage happened instead. I had to get up early for work this morning and didn’t sleep terribly well (again…sigh…), so I was pooped when I returned home. I was going to take a short 20 minutes power-nap, but 20 minutes somehow turned into two hours. Go figure. My body needed the rest, I guess.

I’m hoping I can catch up on rest during the weekend!

By the time I arose from my slumber, it was dinnertime and I was hangry. Unfortunately, fridge conditions were looking rather barren. Nothin’ but some arugula…

…and a few berries that have seen better days.

What to do in a situation like this?

Head to the pantry and the freezer!

I assembled what ingredients I could to make a fantastic 101 Cookbook‘s recipe my mom sent me a few months back: Heather’s Quinoa from 101 Cookbooks

It combines quinoa, pesto, roasted grape tomats, tofu, spinach, corn, and pepitas for a meal of vegetarian perfection.

This dinner was like a hug from the nutrition gods. Could you include any more healthy things in it? Goodness.

I highly recommend this recipe (along with any other recipe featured on Heidi’s site; she’s a cooking goddess). It was fast and easy to assemble, and once I had finished eating my portion, I felt as though I had really nourished my body! I love any dish that makes me feel so good afterwards. It also tasted amazing….just in case you had any doubts.

Try it. Your body will thank you.

After having consumed my healthy quinoa dish, I needed something sweet to balance things out. I was in the mood for cookies, but I didn’t want them to be toooo decadent. I am still trying to abide by the (lax) guidelines of Operation Defluff, so I browsed recipes online until I had found one that wouldn’t totally violate the healthy intentions of Operation Defluff.

I finally found a winner in this recipe: Low-fat low-calorie chocolate chip cookies

These delicious cookies are only 60 calories each, and they tasted great! I enjoyed two fresh from the oven for my dessert. I was happy to satisfy my cookie craving with these yummy treats. Not to mention that they only took 5 minutes to whip up and another 10 to bake. Fast, simple, easy, low-cal, tasty. Heck yes!

I savored every melty chocolate chippy bite. Mmmmmmm…..

Hello gorgeous.

With that, I will bid you all adieu. I’m hoping that tonight is the night I finally catch up on sleep! Happy friday bloggies!

Question: What’s your favorite cookie?

I’m boring. Chocolate chip all the way!

2 responses to “Cookies And Quinoa

  1. I really want to make those cookies right now.. mm they look so good! so does that quinoa you made! I really need to buy pumpkin I always see people putting them in their oats or smoothies!

  2. Oh, I’m loving that pom-mango smoothie idea! Same with the quinoa dish. That combines so many of my favorite things in one meal! As far as cookies go, I’m a white choc. macadamia girl all the way. My favorite ones are from Subway – I have yet to find one I like better! They’re just so chewy and chunky!

Leave a Reply

