The Breakfast Sundae

Hello friends,

I hope you are having wonderful Saturdays. I’m currently settled on a couch, watching the US-England soccer game. Try as I might, I have such a hard time staying interested in soccer games. It’s strange because I am a big sports fan. Football, basketball, hockey, the Olympics, track, swimming.

You name it…..I probably enjoy watching it.

So it perplexes me that I find “real” football so boring. Or perhaps I just find it perplexing that soccer is the most popular sport in the world. I ย feel like the players spend most of the game chasing the ball around the middle of the field. How exactly is that exciting?

I imagine that if I had grown up with it, as the rest of the world did, I would be a soccer fanatic. Instead, I’m an NFL addict. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks America.

Okay, back to the food.

This morning, I tried Angela’s Banana Soft Serve Vegan Overnight Oats for the first time.

Good lord, these are amazing.

My picture really doesn’t do them justice. For more drool-worthy shots, check out Angela’s site. And while you’re there, you can check out any of her fantastic recipes. The woman is a baking genius, and this soft serve creation just took my admiration for her to a whole new level!

Take my word on the fact that this was the most decadent-tasting yet amazingly healthy breakfast I think I’ve ever countered.

It tasted like a chocolate-covered ice cream sundae.

To make my banana soft serve overnight oats, I first mixed up 1/4 cup Coach’s Oats, 3/4 cup almond milk, 1 tbsp chia seeds, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder, and 1 tsp agave nectar in a bowl. I wish I could tell you that I then let them sit in the fridge overnight.

But no. I didn’t realize that I wanted to make this until the morning, so I instead let my oats soak in the fridge for about forty minutes upon making this masterful breakfast decision. This worked out just fine. The oats didn’t thicken up as much as I would have preferred, but they were still softened (if a bit chewier than normal overnight oats). The next time I make this (i.e. tomorrow), I’ll let them sit in the fridge for the entire night, so they can reach their maximum thickness potential!

After my oats were done marinating, I threw a banana in the mini food processor and let it go to town. I thought my poor mini was going to have a fit at certain points, but he survived. Once the banana had become appropriately soft serve-ish, I added some PB sauce (1 tbsp PB + 1tbsp almond milk, nuked, and stirred) to the soft serve, and mixed till it combined.

I then layered my chocolate overnight oats with my peanut butter banana soft serve parfait-style….once I had finished with my food photo shoot, I feasted.

Yummmmmmmm. Anyone with a food processor, you must try this. There are no excuses.

If you like ice cream and you like breakfast, you will like this. Guaranteed.

Go USA! ๐Ÿ™‚

3 responses to “The Breakfast Sundae

  1. hahah I loved reading this post- you are too cute! So glad you enjoyed them…sometimes I think I am just a crazy person or something. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Have a great day!

    Ange

  2. ah I need to try this, I love overnight oats and banana soft serve; adding cocoa powder seems even betterr!

  3. Pingback: Vegetable Couscous + Cheeze Sauce โ€” Oh She Glows

Leave a Reply

