The Pretzel Fiend

If yesterday was a day of pure and unadulterated laziness, then today was a day of pure and unadulterated productivity! I accomplished all sorts of chores and errands that I had been putting off over the last few weeks. Bills were paid, floors were scrubbed, clothes were removed off the floor.

Nothing like a good, cleansing cleaning sesh….

But before I went into my cleaning frenzy, I started things off with another round of banana soft serve vegan overnight oats. They were so delicious yesterday that I knew I just had to have this amazing breakfast again. This time, I added a pumpkin flavor infusion to the mix, and it was ah-ma-zing.

Enter Vegan Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats Soft Serve:

I worked significantly harder this time to obtain more appealing pictures of the overnight oat soft serve. The previous ones, I realize, weren’t the most appetizing. I hope that the following pics might inspire you to try out these vegan soft serve oats. I feel that everyone should have a taste of this wonderful breakfast creation. The world would be a happier please if people started off their days with vegan soft serve oats!

To make this delightful parfait, I first assembled the pumpkin pie overnight oats which included the following:

  • 1/4 cup Coach’s Oats
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1tbsp chia seeds
  • 1tbsp vanilla protein powder
  • several shakes of pumpkin pie spice
  • 3/4 cup almond milk

I let that marinate in the morning for about 40 minutes until the oats had softened and the mixture had thickened.

An aside: I would recommend assembling the oats the night before you plan on eating them. It will make morning time assembly much faster! It has slipped my mind for the past couple of nights, so do as I say and not as I do. Back to regular programming….

While the oats were marinating, I whipped up the banana soft serve in the mini food processor using 1 frozen banana.

After a few minutes of processing, it took on a wonderfully creamy consistency.

Can you believe this is just frozen banana? Who knew that bananas could do this? I can’t get over how much it resembles and tastes like ice cream!

I then layered the oats and the soft serve parfait style in a wine glass…purely for aesthetic purposes, of course.

This breakfast was wonderful…like an autumn-inspired ice cream sundae.

My soft serve oats fueled my way to immense productivity this afternoon, as I previously mentioned. Between all the cleaning, I managed to fit in a bootcamp workout off of the free video stream on the Exercise TV website. My gym is closed on Sundays, so these videos offered up a great alternative. In total, I did about 40 minutes of combined cardio and strength training using two different videos (one 30-minutes and another 10-minute). I was sweating like a beast by the end, and my legs are already sore from all the squats and lunges I did during the workouts!

Lunch

For lunch, I assembled some leftovers and fresh veggies for an easy meal.

I enjoyed some of my eggplant and parmesan souffle from yesterday.

A side of fresh carrots….

….spring greens salad topped with sesame seeds and ginger dressing….

…and some pretzels to round it all off.

I must confess: I’m a big pretzel fiend! I love chowing down on a big bag after a long hike. I justify it on the basis of electrolyte replenishment. Yes, all that sodium helps me replace the salt I lost during a hike….and it certainly doesn’t hurt that they’re addictively delicious. I can down a bag in a single sitting and have no regrets about it.

I will acknowledge, however, that they’re not the best nutritional snack choice (nor are they the best recovery snack). Luckily, I discovered a brand at Whole Foods that featured some pretty impressive nutritional stats. Check it out:

I was amazed that these had so much protein and fiber in them! Generally, pretzels are all salt and carbs, so why, you ask, are these particular pretzels such overachievers?

Well, it’s because they contain oat bran, a wonderful source of protein and fiber.

They had a pleasing taste to them as well. Not too salty (which I like because I am very sensitive too salt, very wheaty (I love the taste of whole wheat), and slightly sweet. I am looking forward to munching on these for future snacks!

Dinner

I was feeling lazy after all my cleaning, so I threw together something fast and easy from the depths of my freezer.

The main course featured a teriyaki tuna burger from Whole Foods.

Along with a piece of whole wheat olive bread from WF…

…and some roasted frozen broccoli (also probably WF brand…lol!).

Family portrait shot:

For a “freezer meal,” this was decent enough. Tomorrow, I promise I’ll get back to real cooking. I have some recipes floating around in my head, and I can’t wait to make them a reality! 🙂

For dessert, I enjoyed two more cooooookies!

I’ve been proud of myself for having refrained from eating the entire batch already. They are quite tasty!

I’ve kept them in a container on the top of my fridge, so I think the whole “out of sight, out of mind” mantra has held true for me. I’ve enjoyed two cookies a day for my post-dinner dessert, and have been satisfied with that. I had originally planned on donating the rest of the batch to the boy, but he had a late night at work last night (i.e. till 2AM! The navy is crazy!)…and a weekend visit just wasn’t in the cards unfortunately. I think I’m going to instead hand them off to my coworkers tomorrow. As much as I love cookies, I don’t need them staring at my every night, just waiting until my defenses are down. I’ve been good so far though! 🙂

Chomp, chomp….

I’m going to miss taking pictures of them actually. Cookies are so photogenic! Who would have thunk it?

Oh, the crazy things you start thinking once you become a food blogger.

Question: How did you all spend your weekends? Relaxing at home? Or did anyone do anything exciting?

7 responses to “The Pretzel Fiend

  1. Oh, to have a weekend at home… They don’t exist for me. I’m a weekend overachiever. Can’t ever turn down a good camping or road trip.

    • Usually, I am a weekend overachiever as well, so it was a welcome break just to chill out on the homefront. I generally prefer having action-packed weekends though! I can’t resist the possibility of adventures…

  2. My weekend was full of potty training, 1/2 marathoning, then more potty training combined with my squeals of pain as I brought my 2 year old up and down the stairs in pain – darn sore muscles!

    Those cookies are super photogenic. I am super impressed you haven’t finished them off. Homemade cookies have no chance in my house.

    • Your weekend sounds like it was jam-packed with action! All I wanted to do after my half was to lie on a couch and nap. I’m impressed you did the half AND dealt with potty training. That takes talent. 🙂

  3. my mom came to visit this weekend! 🙂

  4. Hey babe! Thanks for stopping by my blog (:

    I must say that those pumpkin overnight oats look AHMAZING!! Seriously, I have a weakness for all things pumpkin and I already am in love with VOO – this needs to be made tonight!

    I’m pretty much a busy body, so I spend my weekends running around, trying to do as much as possible. I’ll save relaxing for retiremend lol

    PS – definitely try the cheese/bbq sandwich combo, I promise it won’t disappoint!

Leave a Reply

