Marathon Training, Day 1

Based on the title of this post, you would think that I did a really hardcore workout this morning. Not so much….the first official day of my first official week of marathon training  called for me to run 3 miles.

I can handle that. In fact, I did handle that: I cranked out an easy 3.1 miles in 30 minutes this morning. It felt great to run again!

Marathon training starts benignly enough. I have a whole raft of three mile runs coming up within the next couple weeks, with my “long runs” topping off at 6-7 miles. Obviously, my mileage will grow and grow over the coming months, but marathon training really isn’t too crazy for the first four weeks or so.

I’m glad that training starts off so mildly because I think it’ll help me to avoid burning out too soon on this marathon training business.

To fuel my run, I enjoyed a SIAB + coffee.

In the GM mix:

  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 1/2 cup soy milk, 1/2 cup water
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 tbsp PB
  • 1 tbsp wheat germ
  • 1 tsp xantham gum
  • ice cubes
  • 1/2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • scoop of Chocolate Vega protein
  • 1/4 cup Bear Fit Naked Vanilla Almond granola

I have some bad news to report on the smoothie front:

 My Chocolate Vega protein powder failed to deliver! 😦

I was so excited to try this stuff out since I am completely in love with Vega’s Vanilla Chai powder. I had lofty expectations for the chocolate flavor, but it did not live up to them. It tasted nowhere near as chocolate-y as I would have liked. I had been hoping that it would taste less “green” than the Amazing Grass chocolate powder I had recently run out of, but it really didn’t taste much like anything at all. After tasting both flavors, I think the Amazing Grass chocolate flavor is far superior to the Vega chocolate if only because the Amazing Grass flavor actually sorta tastes like chocolate. I can’t say the same for the Vega…..

Of the protein powders I’ve tried, here are my rankings for them (based solely on taste):

  1. Vega Vanilla Chai Whole Food Health Optimizer
  2. Jay Robb’s Vanilla Whey
  3. Amazing Grass Chocolate Green Superfood
  4. Vega Chocolate Whole Food Health Optimizer
  5. Amazing Grass Pomegranate Mango

Nutritionally, both Vega and Amazing Grass feature amazing stats and are chock-a-block full of vitamins, minerals, and plant-based protein. It’s a toss up in that department. Jay Robb’s Vanilla Whey definitely falls in last. It doesn’t bring much to the table except dairy-based protein.

Personally, I have a hard time digesting large quantities of whey protein (which is what the protein powder provides) because I’m mildly lactose intolerance. I’ve had no trouble with the plant-based Vega and Amazing Grass products, however. 

I’ll be back later tonight for some more info on my marathon training as well as some expectations/hopes/concerns that I have about this upcoming endeavor of mine.

Question: Have you ever tried protein powder? If so, what’s your favorite brand?

4 responses to “Marathon Training, Day 1

  1. Katherine: What About Summer?

    I can’t wait to read everyone else’s responses to the protein question (and I can’t wait for marathon day; this is going to be a great blog to follow). I love your place mat’s colors!
    Katherine

  2. I haven’t tried to many different protien powders. My husband buys EAS chocolate flavor. So when I need some added protien, I just steel a scoop of his. It is decent.

    I’m excited to see your marathon training progress. I would love to run a marathon, but I am definitely not up for it yet. Maybe in a year or so.

  3. In the past I’ve really liked Trader Joe’s brand vanilla or chocolate whey protein powders but after discovering Vega, it made me realize the whey protein is a little hard on my lactose-sensitive tummy. Now I vote vega chai (even though I’m hesitant to shell out for that big $40+ tub!). It’s funny, I had almost your exact same GM (even including Bear Fit Naked Vanilla Almond granola!) for dinner tonight. Yum!

  4. I am not usually one for protein powders, but I do really like that chocolate Amazing Grass Superfood, which surprised me.

Leave a Reply

