Computer Oops

Hello all!

I apologize for the lack of posting last night. My computer fell prey to my klutzy antics….unfortunately, I knocked over some water onto my keyboard (argh!), and while the trackpad still functions, the “clicker” part of the trackpad isn’t working. I’m currently typing up this post on my work computer, so until the computer is fixed (and hopefully it’s soon!), posts will now be during the day instead of at night.

I’m happy to report that I DID get up yesterday and do my run before breakfast! I must admit, it was sooooo hard for me to get up and stumble into my workout clothes. When the alarm initially went off, I was honestly considering just bailing on the morning workout…but I didn’t want to come back to the blog and report that I had failed in my mission! Thank you for motivating me, blog.

With blog motivation spurring me onward, I forced myself out of bed and sleepily stumbled out the door for an easy 3 mile run, which I completed in about 29:40, just under 10-minute miles. My stomach started growling about halfway through my run, and I found that very uncomfortable! I hope my tummy gets used to this pre-breakfast workout thing soon!

I came back home, stretched for a bit, showered, and then eagerly bounded into the kitchen to make what had been on my mind the entire run: Kodiak Cakes!

I prepped the Kodiak Cake mix by mixing a 1/3 cup portion with 1/3 cup water (tough prep, I know).  While my pancake was cooking on the griddle,  I whipped up a peanut butter chocolate yogurt topper that I created by mixing:

  • 1/3 cup Greek Yogurt
  • 1 tsp agave nectar
  • PB sauce (1 tbsp PB + 1 tbsp soy milk)
  • 1 heaping tsp unsweetened cocoa powder

I was surprised at how delicious and decadent my chocolate PB yogurt experiment tasted! I spread the yogurt over my pancake and then added half a sliced banana and some cacao nibs on top. I enjoyed this fun, chocolate variation on my usual plain Greek yogurt pancake topping….

I became hungry earlier than normal (probably due to my pre-breakfast workout), so I snacked on some Mary’s Crackers. While decent enough, these do not reach the same heights of cracker awesomeness as my beloved Dr. Krakah.

They just didn’t hold me over as well as Dr. Kracker crackers. I was hungry again only an hour after I ate these!

Lunch

I enjoyed a yummy salad made of mixed baby greens, tempeh, 1/4 diced avocado, cucs, and bell peppers. It was fresh and colorful!

I topped my salad with some salsa and some strawberries on the side.

My lunch in its entirety looked a little something like this:

Dinner

My pasta experiment from yesterday produced more than enough for several leftover meals. Here’s random pesto bean pasta, take 2.

Dessert

My heart longed for tart frozen yogurt last night as it often does during the summer months. I loved my raspberry syrup (it came for free when I bought my Kodiak Cake mix, and it’s awesome!) topping from yesterday, so I added a small drizzle. It blends so well with the tart fro yo. Raspberries and fro yo were just meant to be together…

With that, I spent the rest of the evening digesting and watching So You Think You Can Dance? I love watching the dancers…it’s amazing how easy they make their routines look. Pure grace…quite unlike myself. I am a pure klutz, as evidenced by the computer incident.

Question: Do any of you have a background in dance?

My illustrious background includes a stint with ballet classes when I was four. It didn’t last long….how I wish I would have stuck with it! Dancing seems like such a great workout, and it looks sooo fun!

4 responses to “Computer Oops

  1. I am 100% not a dancer. Give me a ball, puck or stick and I can handle it, but music and grace don’t watch.

    You mentioned you make your own coconut butter???!? How? Am I dense and coconut butter is simply blended coconut?

  2. Fantastic. I don’t need to waste $12 bucks on a jar next time!

  3. That’s what I love while blogging – that we keep motivated to reach our goals because we don’t want to report failing – great you did your workout 🙂 I took dance classes in classic dances (valse..) once but normally I just dance while listening to music – without rules 😉

Leave a Reply

