Early Morning Triumph

I had another early morning workout victory this morning!

YES!

For the second day in a row, I dragged myself out of bed and got my run over and done with before I had eaten my beloved breakfast. I felt groggy to start and grew hungry toward the end, but I was able to finish strong….in fact, I had negative mile splits!

  • Mile 1: 10:30 (still waking up)
  • Mile 2: 9:53
  • Mile 3: 9:37

Total time: 30 minutes on the dot….

I’m glad that I’m easing into these early morning runs with a bunch of 3 milers. Any longer and I would be far more inclined to hit the snooze button on my alarm. 30 minutes is over before you know it!

I came home and headed straight to the oatmeal supplies. I had a hankering for them the whole run…in fact, I think my third mile was so speedy because I just wanted to get home and eat some oats! Food motivates me like that.

I had my usual whipped banana oats and coffee.

 Made with hungry runner gusto using the following ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup Coach’s Oats
  • 1/3 cup vanilla soy milk, 2/3 cup water
  • small sliced banana
  • pinch salt, splash vanilla
  • 1/2 tbsp chia seeds
  • half portion of PB sauce (1/2 T PB + 1/2 T soy milk)
  • half portion of Cocoa Mole Almond Butter sauce (1/2 T AB + 1/2 T soy milk)
  • 1/2 tbsp raspberry preserves
  • 2 tbsp Bear Naked Fit Vanilla Almnond Granola

It was all that I hoped it would be. The combination of the nut butters and raspberry prserves was an especially appealing combo this morning.

Lunch

I had the last of my random pesto bean pasta, the last of my strawberries, and some oat bran pretzels.

To be honest, I’m happy to be done with this pasta…I rarely enjoy eating something three days in a row, and this certainly didn’t fall into that rare category of “Things I Could Eat Everyday”. Nah, this needed to be finished off. I’m glad I didn’t let any of it go to waste though! One of my biggest pet peeves is having food go bad on me before I have a chance to eat it. This stuff was on its last legs but not inedible by any means.

Since my lunch was rather carb-heavy, my snack later on this afternoon shall feature some vegetables in the form of freshly cut carrots and cucs + hummus for dipping:

I made an appointment this evening with the folks at the Mac Genius Bar in the hope that they’ll be able to fix my malfunctioning trackpad! I really hope my lil’ MacBook will be back in action before I know it. I miss him….blogging on my at-work Windows is way more of a pain in the ass.

Question: PC or Mac?

I used to be a big PC person, but now that I bought a back a few months ago, I ain’t ever going back. I love it so much!

2 responses to “Early Morning Triumph

  1. Sheesh, you ran three miles and made a billion oatmeal toppings all first thing in the morning?! I am lucky if I can make it down my stairs without falling 😀

  2. nice job with your runs!

Leave a Reply

