All-American

I took my MacBook Pro to the Genius Bar (aka. the Mac Hospital) at the Mac store yesterday evening and left him there overnight. He needs a trackpad replacement, but the Genius helping me out did report that there seemed to be no internal damage to my computer! My lil’ Macbook will return to my life after a hospital stay of 1-3 days. Hopefully, he will be all healed at that point…

Before I headed out to the Mac store, I made a (slightly) healthier version of that all-American classic, a cheese dog! Instead of using a hot dog, I used an organic turkey andouille sauage. No white bread bun either. I instead wrapped my “dog” in a whole grain tortilla with 1 oz. of sharp cheddar cheese and BBQ sauce.

After spending 10 minutes in the oven, the cheese dog came out all gooey and melty. Mmmm….

To keep my meal balanced, I had some sauteed zucchini, summer squash, and bell pepper on the side.

It was a great meal. So comforting and satisfying, and it only took about 10 minutes to pull together. I love healthy spins on all-American classics!

This morning, I had a day off from running (per Hal’s recommendation), so I went straight to the kitchen to make some oatmeal. Hot oatmeal is usually the last thing I crave when it’s hot outside, so I figure I should get my fill in while the weather is bearable enough to enjoy it. The weather has been very mild recently (i.e. mid 70s), but this weekend is supposed to get TOASTY again! At that point, I will probably say buh-bye to my oatmeal. 😦

Today’s oats were a healthy spin on Reeses Peanut Butter Cups….

In the mix:

  • 1/3 cup Coach’s oats
  • 1/3 cup soymilk, 2/3 cup water
  • small banana
  • 1 T Vega Chocolate powder (which accounts for the strange brownish-green hue)
  • heaping tbsp PB
  • a few semi-sweet dark chocolate chips
  • cacao nibs
  • Bear Fit Naked Vanilla Almond Granola

I know I gave a negative review to the Vega chocolate flavor a few posts ago, but for some reason, it tasted much better in my oats than it did in a GM. I’m going to give it a few more chances before I write it off completely. These oats were fantastic!  The PB was especially melty today…

The perfect way to start my Friday…..

Question: What’s your favorite all-American meal?

One response to “All-American

  1. When I ate meat I LOVED cheese dogs! YUM!

    I’m a macaroni and cheese kind a gal!

Leave a Reply

