Weekday Beach Day!

First off, thank you so much for your kind comments and support yesterday. I truly appreciate it from the bottom of my heart….each comment lifted my spirits. Thank you, thank you, thank you. 🙂

Having said that, let’s take the focus back to the food!

With the temperature soaring in my third-floor apartment, I whipped up a batch of Simply Cinnamon Overnight Oats yesterday night and topped it with PB sauce (1tbsp PB + 1tbsp milk, nuked 15 sec, and stirred), blueberries, and half a sliced banana this morning.

With my belly full of yumminess, I headed off to work to lead some of my residents on a beach outing today!

Honestly, I don’t know who enjoyed this outing more….me or my residents. This day was the perfect anecdote for yesterday’s happenings. Can you ask for anything more healing and joyful than sunshine, ocean water, and good company? I can’t!

As an aside, it must be noted that Connecticut’s beaches are kinda pathetic (sorry Connecticut). Long Island (which can actually be seen from CT’s shoreline) blocks any real waves from making it to Connecticut’s shores, so the beaches here are more like lakefronts without any wave action. Sadness. Apparently, you have to head all the way up to Rhode Island to find quality waves.

Note how calm the water is.

Regardless of the Long Island Sound’s lack of waves, we all had a good time.

Here are some pics of my residents:

Joe and Faith...

Luis (who is my favorite resident. He’s just so sweet…shhhhhh…don’t tell anyone I have a favorite)…..

David (who enlisted my coworker help bury him under the sand)….

All covered up!

I’m just glad David didn’t ride back in my car. He was a sandy beast!

I lathered on the SPF several times, and successfully avoided resembling a tomato by the end of the day…My skin is naturally very fair, and any sun on my skin leads to BURNS, not tans. It sucks….so I’ve just grown to embrace the sunscreen. I rock my paleness.

I loved laying out on the beach today and reading my book under clear blue skies and warm beams of sunlight! Sunshine is such a mood lifter for me, and it worked its wonders today. I love you, sun. Thanks for working your magic.

After making the drive back to Hartford, I headed home where I whipped up some lentil veggie enchiladas!

I diced up some red bell pepper, zucchini, and yellow squash and threw it in a skillet for about 5 min.

I had prepared some lentils earlier this morning, so I grabbed those guys from the fridge and scooped some lentils + sauteed veggies + TJ’s red enchilada sauce onto my whole grain tortillas.

I topped them with some shredded sharp cheddar cheese (about 1 oz.) and more enchilada sauce. You can never have enough of it, to be honest.

My enchilada-sauce soaked friends were then baked at 375 for about 10 minutes.

I enjoyed one lentil enchilada for dinner and some roasted balsamic broccoli slaw on the side. The enchiladas were nice and hefty like I like ’em, but packed with healthy ingredients instead of the usual, fatty Tex-Mex fillings. Healthified Mexican…I can dig it.

It looked and tasted just as good as the restaurant version, but it was muchhhhhhh better for you.

I dominated the enchilada, per usual. It had no chance.

For dessert, I had several slices of fresh, organic cantaloupe from Whole Foods.

Summer fruit is the best. I can’t resist it….

With that, I’m off to read my book and get ready for bed.

Question: What’s your favorite summer fruit?

7 responses to “Weekday Beach Day!

  1. that cantaloupe looks so beautiful! although i have to say my favorite summer fruit is ripe wild blueberries. and props for rocking the paleness!

  2. what a fun day! I love pineapple!

    I just made my first overnight oats yesterday – so do you cook the oats or simply mix them with the ingredients and let them sit overnight?

    • You just let them sit overnight. By the time the morning rolls around, they’ll have absorbed whatever milk you added and softened, leaving you with a dough-y, yogurt, and oat mixture. I really love it. I hope you do too!

  3. strawberries, and honeydew!
    those enchiladas look great! yum.

  4. I love the beach too. I went to school in CT and I can agree with you they have pretty lousy waves. The beaches in Chicago and Michigan actually can have better waves, suprisingly from just a lake.

    My favorite summer fruit is definitely strawberries. I can’t get enough.

  5. Sounds like a great day at the beach. I grew up in Connecticut, and the waves are definitely nonexistent.

    My favorite summer fruit would have to be blueberries, especially when I can pick them myself.

  6. Loveeee the overnight oats! I rock them constantly lol and I’m so jealous you’re so close to the beach! The calming water looks so relaxing – that’s my kind of summer hangout! lol My favorite summer fruit = strawberries. I can never eat enough of them it seems (:

Leave a Reply

