The Christmas Sandwich

What’s red and green and gold all over?

A Christmas tree decked with golden holly and glistening red ornaments?

Nah.

How about my sandwich for tonight’s dinner? Bingo… We’ve got a winner here.

Open-faced.

Topped with an Ezekiel hat.

As you may recall from yesterday’s post, I am lacking in the produce department. I really need to go to the grocery store and restock my supplies, but I’m trying to hold out till the weekend. It’s a strange badge of honor for me to make it through each week without having to run to the grocery store for supplies midweek. I’m a weekend shopper, and that’s that.

Sometimes, my refusal to do any midweek shopping leads to situations like today….where I didn’t have any typical sandwich makings on-hand for my dinner.

I had to get creative with some random ingredients, thus producing a pretty darn tasty sandwich. It’s also very colorful. And christmas-y.

I present to you:

The Christmas Sandwich

To make this unusual vegan sandwich, you’re going to need some greenage:

  • 1/2 mashed avocado
  • serving of lima beans (or edamame)….some type of green beans

Some red stuff:

  • salsa of choice
  • red pepper flakes

Some golden tinsel:

  • dijon mustard

To construct this Christmas tree sandwich, take two slices of oak-hued whole wheat bread. I used sesame Ezekiel.

Combine the mashed avocado and lima beans with a glug of lemon juice and sprinkle of cumin. Spread over one slice of bread. On this same slice, spoon salsa atop the avocado mash.

On the other slice, slather on some mustard and sprinkle with red pepper flakes.

Finish decorating your Christmas Sandwich by putting the two pieces together….and eating it.

You might want to play Deck The Halls while you eat this. It will help set the mood.

In other news, I ran 3 miles today in a speedy 27:40 at the gym. I ran on the dreadmill (it was just too hot and muggy out for me to even think about running outside) while watching the amazing US-Algeria soccer game. Watching the guys put so much heart into the game inspired me to push myself beyond my comfort zone during my workout. I emerged from the workout looking like a red tomato, and I was satisfied with my efforts.

Random aside: Did anyone else catch this game? Gosh. What a game! I live for miraculous sports moments like that goal in the 91st minute of the game, and I was so happy that I was able to watch it live. I about flipped out at work when it happened. I jumped off the couch, pumped my fist, yelled….the whole works. My residents found it amusing.

I also won our Poker Tournament at work tonight! Whootwhoot!

A darn good humpday, indeed.

Question: Are any of you sports fans?

I like watching most sports, but I’m most obsessed with NFL football!

7 responses to “The Christmas Sandwich

  1. Man, I know what you mean about running in the hot mugginess….Not fun! I really should start waking up earlier

    And I love how creative your sandwiches are. Summer has got me on a sandwich kick 😀

  2. Ahhh that sandwich! Before I saw dijon mustard, I thought it was hummus. Either would be fabulousity.

    I watched the game, of course!!!!!!!!!!

  3. YUM! That sandwich looks so gourmet!

  4. I’m not a huge sports fan, but my husband LOVES soccer so I’ve been getting into the World Cup this year!!! Yesterday’s game was so exciting!

    And that sandwich looks delicious! 🙂

  5. My friends all think I’m completely insane when college football season starts. It rules my life. All-encompassingly.

  6. I love avocado on sandwiches 🙂

  7. First, I love the creation you’ve made while trying to stretch out the week’s groceries. I do the same a lot 🙂 And second, I was going nuts when the US scored against Algeria. I wish I’d been running on the treadmill while I watched it…super motivation!

Leave a Reply

