Grin And Eat It

I’ve noticed a theme among some of my food pictures. Apparently, I like to create smiley faces with my food. I don’t do this on purpose….it just happens somehow.

Maybe it’s my subconscious expressing itself through food? Maybe it suggests that I’m just an optimist at heart? Or that my inner self smiles when it’s time to eat?

I have no idea….At least I’m not subconsciously creating frowns.  That might point to another problem altogether.

This lunch yielded a rather toothy grin.

Kinds of look like a crazy-eyed monster, doesn’t it?

To start, I had a crazy-eyed Boca burger on an Ezekiel english muffin with 1/4 chopped avocado, some sundried tomatoes, and some swirls of ketchup and dijon mustard. I’m not a huge fan of Boca burgers, but I had some in the freezer and figured it wouldn’t hurt to start cleaning out the freezer a bit. I have LOADS of veggie burgers to be eaten between now and the end of July when I head back to Colorado.

Swirls of condiment joy.

A little color makes any veggie burger better.

I had a huge sliced apple on the side. It was glorious.

Dinner

I’m taking my residents to a minor league baseball game tonight, so I’m packing a dinner to take to the stadium. Here’s what I selected for my on-the-go meal:

A very Kath-esque cheese n’ jam sandwich featuring 365 Sharp Cheddar Cheese and raspberry preserves! Can’t wait to dig in to this guy….

Some carrots sticks for veggies and the last of my cantaloupe for fruit!

This isn’t my most colorful meal, sadly. Too many shades of yellow and orange…oh well. Not every meal can be aesthetically pleasing, try as I might.

Exercise Happenings

Today is a rest day per the marathon training schdule. I plan on tackling my long run (a 7 miler) early in the morning tomorrow, and I swear it will happen! So help me blog, it will happen.

To ease the pain of the early morning run, I’m going to have some coffee before my run, a snack of PB + bread, and hope for the best. Normally, I don’t drink coffee before I head out because I’m too lazy to make it…but I think it might be worth it once I start getting into the really long double-digit runs later on in my training. I can’t even imagine running 3+ hours without having some java in my system. Tomorrow, I will experiment with some coffee before my 7 miler, and hope that my stomach can handle it. I’ll report back tomorrow with the (hopefully positive!) results.

Happy Friday!

Some Running Inspiration For You:

“If you run, you are a runner. It doesn’t matter how fast or how far. It doesn’t matter if today is your first day or if you’ve been running for twenty years. There is no test to pass, no license to earn, no membership card to get. You just run.”
John Bingham

One response to “Grin And Eat It

  1. Your smiley faces are so cute. It works out well that your meals are accompanied by apple and carrot teeth.

    Good luck with that marathon training.

Leave a Reply

