Goat Cheese No-Go

This morning, I accomplished one of my lofty, long-term running goals of running without feeling like crap in the early morning. I’m telling ya, it’s the little things in life that make me happy.

I arose from my slumber (thanks to my trusty alarm clock) around 6:00 AM, drank a small cup of coffee, and munched on half a whole wheat bagel + smear of PB before driving out to my selected running course for the morning.  The coffee + small snack really made a difference in my attitude toward the whole run. With java coursing through my system, I was ready to roll for my 7-miler at the West Hartford Reservoir, my fav running site in the area. The woodsy, shaded course at the reservoir is not super hilly, but it’s certainly not flat either. Gently rolling hills is the best way I can describe it….I like running there because the hills keep things interesting. If a course is too flat and straight, I get bored easily.

Long run stats:

Total distance: 7.15 miles, Total time: 1hr 15min, Avg. pace: 10:31 min/mile

  • Mile 1- 11:16 min
  • Mile 2- 10:20 min
  • Mile 3- 10:21 min
  • Mile 4- 10:35 min
  • Mile 5- 10:46 min
  • Mile 6- 10:26 min
  • Mile 7- 10:04 min
  • Mile 7.15- 1:30 min

I kept my pace in check throughout the run just to make sure I had enough gas in the tank to finish out the run. Not to mention that I actually like taking a nice, slow, and easy run every so often. It’s fun just to enjoy the scenery and the music from my ipod without having to focus on intervals or hill repeats or maintaing a certain pace.

Love the long run. So far anyway….that love might die out once I start doing 3+ hr long runs.

In addition, the java and bagel sat well in my system, which was great! I generally have a strong stomach, but it’s hard to predict how running will impact your digestive system. Luckily, there were no issues…I will definitely have a little coffee before all future long runs. It made it a more pleasant experience.

Once I got back to the house, I was able to enjoy this lovely breakfast creation.

Vegan Overnight Oats w/banana soft serve….just like eating ice cream for breakfast. 🙂

This batch was made by mixing up 1/4 cup Coach’s Oats, 1 tbsp chia seeds, 3/4 cup soy milk, and 1/2 scoop Vega chocolate protein powder the night before. I whipped up the banana soft serve using one frozen banana that I threw in the food processor with a splash of soy milk for a few minutes. I then layered the two parfait style.

It was a perfect summer breakfast.

Lunch

After running a few errands, I came home craving eggs. I wanted some protein…and fast! I decided to make a greek omelet.

Made using:

  • 1 egg + 2 egg whites
  • feta
  • sundried tomatoes
  • spinach

I had a slice of millet bread topped with raspberry preserves, wheat germ, and walnuts on the side.

A little random, I know. But it was surprisingly good! Can’t go wrong with millet.

Snack

While watching the US-Ghana soccer match, I snacked on a plum

…and a mini-bag of popcorn.

That was a tough loss, wasn’t it? I enjoyed watching the game though. Maybe this soccer business is more interesting than I thought it was?

Dinner

My appetite has been strangely nonexistent throughout the day, and I’m not sure why. You would think that it would be revved up from the run. Go figure…I’m sure it’ll all balance out in the end. Maybe I’ll be hungrier tomorrow?

Anyway, after eating my snack around 3:00, I didn’t get hungry again till around 7 or so….when I did finally feel some hunger pangs, I followed a yummy and simple recipe that my mom recommended to me.

Greek-Style Orzo Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette

I modified the recipe a bit by adding in some roasted eggplant and zucchini to the mix. I also added a mixture of feta + goat cheese to the salad instead of feta alone. I didn’t have enough feta to fulfill the recipe’s cheese demands, so I went with a mixture of the two.

If any of you decide to make this recipe (and I definitely suggest you do b/c it’s delicious!), I would just go with the feta alone. While I love goat cheese, it wasn’t the best addition to this pasta because it melted all over the place when I added it to the pasta. While it was still amazing and delicious, I think the overall consistency of the salad would have been better served without the additional creaminess from the goat cheese.

As much as like goat cheese, this was a no-go.

Well friends, I’m going to go rummage around in my fridge. I feel the need for some berries, and lucky me, I just restocked my fruit supply! Joy of joys…

I shall see you tomorrow…I have something to show you all that I’m very excited about!

Hint: it’s a purchase I made today, and it’s replacing something I use quite frequently for the blog

I’m so excited about it that it almost made up for the US loss today! Almost.

4 responses to “Goat Cheese No-Go

  1. That layered breakfast looks so good. I have yet to banana soft serve, but need to try it this summer.

  2. what a beautiful breakfast!

  3. nothing makes up for the US loss. nothing!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    …although i must say, watching it here in africa, i would have felt a little guilty if we won. seeing as this is “Africa’s world cup” and only Ghana even made it out of the first round, it was pretty important that they won. The hopes of a continent are on their shoulders!! 🙂 seriously, though.

  4. Those overnight oats look SO GOOD! I really need to retry the banana softserve, I think mine got too soft and turned more to mush than ice cream lol and I can’t wait to see what you got! Fingers crossed it’s a sweet new camera (:

Leave a Reply

