Homemade Chocolate Hazelnut Butter

So it’s that time of the week again….Monday, Monday! You’re not a fun day!

At the very least, today was my “rest day” in my marathon training, so I enjoyed being a big lazy slob throughout the day.

I also did some more baking after work….like a crazy person. Who bakes when it’s 90 degrees outside? Does this seem like a remotely rational thing to do? Really. Who does this?

Besides me, of course.

Maybe the better question is why do I get the baking urge when it’s a bazillion degrees out? The ebbs and flows of my impulses perplex me at times.

This baking kick I’ve gone on over the past few days has meant an increased use of the oven, making my already toasty apartment even toastier. It’s almost like being in a sauna. If I just close my eyes, I can pretend I’m at a luxurious spa.

Only I’m in the Hood….and people are screaming at each other in Spanish across the street.

Same thing.

But in truth, sweating like a snowcone in the Sahara is all worth it if this is the end result…

This would be my latest nut butter creation- an attempt to recreate the magic of Nutella.

Some hazelnuts might have been involved in the process.

That’s right, kids….it’s chocolate hazelnut butter time!

Chocolate Hazelnut Butter

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup hazelnuts
  • 1 T vegetable oil
  • 1 T unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1.5 T agave nectar
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Roast hazelnuts for 5-7 minutes in an oven preheated to 350 until nuts are golden brown. Toss nuts once to prevent burning.
  2. After allowing hazelnuts to cool, process in food processor until smooth.
  3. Once desired texture has been achieved, add vegetable oil, agave, salt, and cocoa powder. Pulse till combined.

What’s with me and the chocolate lately?

Although, now that I think about it, that’s the question of my life…It’s not so much a matter of me being obsessed with chocolate “lately.”

It’s been a lifetime love affair. You can take away all other sweets from me, but don’t you dare step within a ten foot radius of my chocolate stash. Bad things will happen to you…grrrrrr. Be afraid, very afraid.

Getting away from my strange inclination to protect chocolate like it was my child, let’s look at some of my non-chocolate food selections throughout the day.

I do, on occasion, eat stuff that doesn’t feature cocoa as its main ingredient. 😀

Case in point: the overnights oats I enjoyed this morning.

I used my usual mixture of chia seeds, oats, Greek yogurt, soy milk, and cinnamon for the base.vFor the toppings, I added some fresh summer raspberries

…and half a sliced banana + 2 tbsp almond slices.

Dinnertime Delight

Once I ventured back to my apartment after work, I whipped up a Buddha’s Delight tofu + vegetable stir-fry from a recipe in one of my cookbooks.

It looked like a dish you’d find in a quality Chinese restaurant, but it tasted a zillion times less oily. It also sat much lighter in my stomach than most Chinese dishes do. No complaints with that!

I live for stir-fried veggies. Come to me, red bell pepper, broccoli, carrots, and snow peas! Nomnomnom.

Buddha’s Delight=Lindsay’s Delight

If anyone would like the recipe for this stir-fry, just let me know. I’m feeling too lazy to type it out right now…but if I see that there’s great demand for it (or even one demand…I’m not too hard to break), I’ll relent and type it out for you guys. 🙂

Alright. I think I’m going to go swim in Chocolate Hazelnut Butter now.

Toodle-oo.

Question: What’s your favorite type of nut butter?

18 responses to “Homemade Chocolate Hazelnut Butter

  1. With humidity it was over 100* in Boston today… but somehow I made a stir fry for dinner… plus more homemade kind bars?? AND brownies?!? Whatever urges you to bake when it’s hot must be getting to me too! Also, I have that sorbet cup + spoon from C&B too. For some reason you get no sense of scale from these pics — I know it’s really tiny but that cup of nut butter looks HUGE! And I’m well aware of what happens when you try to get between Linz and her chocolate. I’m glad our friendship is still intact. 🙂

    • I’m glad to know I’m not the only weirdo with hot weather baking urges! 🙂 Don’t you just love those C&B spoons? So cute…and actually, I wish that cup was as big as it looks from the photo! That would mean more nut butter for me!

  2. I know exactly what you mean about that horrid humidity killing a lot of kitchen urges, but that TOTALLY looks worth it! All I can think about is drizzling that over fresh berries and apples…thank you *so* much for that craving, giving that I have neither in the house…lol

    • Haha…I can’t count the number of times that food blogs have made me crave stuff I don’t have on-hand in my kitchen. It drives me crazy! Lol.

  3. oh my, just your title alone made me start drooling!

  4. My favorite type of nut butter right now is PB&Co White Chocolate Wonderful. My grandmother LOVES nutella though, I should definitely make this for her. Awesome recipe! (:

    • I love PB&Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams was practically sent down from the heavens above. It’s sooooo good. I’ll have to try White Chocolate Wonderful at some point.

  5. I love Nutella, and buy it so rarely because I have a tendency to eat it on everything, and eat a whole jar in less than a week. Homemade chocolate hazelnut butter sounds incredible.

  6. Your stirfry looks delicious! It’s so full of color and variety. Love it. 😀

    I love trying new nut butter flavors, but I always go back to plain ol’, chunky & lightly salted peanut butter. It’s my personal favorite and there’s always a jar sitting in my fridge. Although a rustic almond butter is high on my list as well. 😉

  7. I have similar issues with wanting to bake when it is hot as all get out in my kitchen!

    The chocolate hazelnut butter looks amazing!!!

  8. Lovely photos of the oatmeal. Don’t you love how raspberries seem to glow in the right light?

  9. That chocolate hazlenut butter looks delicious! I wish I had your baking urges…I love the IDEA of being a baker, and yet I never actually want to bake. Perhaps because I’m no good at it, so I know it will taste better if I just let someone else do it for me.

    Which means that you are more than welcome to come to my house and bake anytime! 😉

  10. HOL-Y Yummm! My tongue wants to lick that spoon…now! I’ve never even TRIED nut butter. Is that weird? I want to though. What do you suggest?

    • Oh my gosh! You need to get your hands on some nut butter ASAP! To start, I think I’d recommend that old classic, peanut butter. It’s my go-to nut butter, and it’s just so tasty. Try it slathered on a banana. It’s delicious.

  11. i don’t even like bananas and that looks yummy!

  12. Holy moley! I think that chocolate hazelnut butter is the key to my heart 😉

Leave a Reply

