Don’t Get Mad, Get Cookin’!

I have an interesting relationship with computers.

Sometimes, the computer is my friend. In fact, this is the way it goes for the most part. The computer smiles at me; I smile back. We hold hands (theoretically speaking) and laugh and play. Life is good.

Other times, the computer is an evil demon whose sole mission on this earth is to wreak havoc upon my life! It is heartless and cruel, and I feel as though I’m dealing with an entirely different entity from my usual computer friend.

Today, as you might have guessed, my computer was not my friend. Oh no. Today, the computer thought it would be fun to destroy all remnants of the medical school secondary essays I had been working on for several hours at Barnes & Noble.

Sigh….

I’m not even sure how it happened, and it might even be my own fault (it probably is, but I’m going to instead blame it on the evil demon possessing my computer….makes me feel better for the time being). Either way, in one fell stroke of the mouse, the PDF file for my George Washington University secondary application and the hours of work I had put into the essays had disappeared into the infinite computer abyss.

I sat there for a few moments in disbelief. Shock. Sadness. Anger. Frustration.

Even the grande Starbucks misto I was sipping at the time couldn’t numb the pain.

Computer, why must you be so cruel????

After a teary-eyed conversation with my mom, I still couldn’t help but feel demoralized. And I couldn’t stomach the thought of sitting in the Barnes and Noble for any longer, so I flew out of there and headed straight to a place I knew would make me feel better. A place I love. A place for which I have a 100 dollar gift certificate.

Whole Foods!

After such a debacle, some might choose to drown their sorrows in oreos.

This girl chooses to drown her sorrow in homemade pesto using fresh basil from WF, balsamic reduction syrup, and grilled scallops.

Armed with a bag of fresh produce, I got to work on the pesto and created something lovelier than any store bought pesto could ever hope to achieve. I had to work out my sadness somehow, and what better way than through culinary adventures? This was actually my first (and certainly not my last) attempt at making fresh pesto.

To make this basil pesto, I combined 2 cups fresh basil leaves, 2 garlic cloves, 2 tbsp pine nuts and salt + pepper in my mini food processor and processed until everything was finely chopped. I then added in 1/2 cup olive oil and pulsed until combined. The recipe I followed called for an additional 3/4 cup of freshly grated Parmesan cheese, which is to be added just before serving. But after tasting the pesto fresh from the processor, I didn’t feel that it needed anything extra. It was great as is.

I then measured a tbsp of my pesto and rubbed it over a serving of thawed scallops. I allowed the scallops to sit in their pesto marinade for about an hour before I grilled them on the George Foreman (3-4 min per side).

Meanwhile, I sauteed up some diced eggplant and sun-dried tomatoes with a little salt and pepper for seasoning. I also prepared a serving of whole wheat noodles and a balsamic reduction sauce (made by dumping some balsamic vinegar in a small saucepan and boiling away the extra liquid until it takes on a syrup-y consistency).

After the noodles were done cooking and the scallops had finished grilling, I combined the vegetables with the pasta and added another dollop of pesto to the noodles. I mixed till all the noodles had a nice, green tint from the pesto. I topped with the scallops and drizzled with balsamic syrup. It was GLORIOUS.

I often forget how much I enjoy the buttery flavor and soft texture of scallops, but this dish reminded me of how fabulous they can be. They’re just delicious, especially when covered in balsamic syrup and pesto!

I’m glad I was able to channel my pent-up frustration into something positive…because honestly, this meal had so many positives going on. At the very least, it reminded me that I need to eat scallops more often. I have a frozen bag of them in my freezer….I just need to remember to bust them out on occasion!

Even after that meal, I think I might need to have another session with the yoga mat tonight to burn off my anger at the computer. I’d like to just “leave it on the mat,” if you catch my drift.

Tomorrow though, I will get back on the horse and start cranking out the med school essays….again. I have a planned 9 miler in the morning, and I’m hoping that this run will inspire me for the rest of the day. I really enjoy long, slow runs over the weekend because I can take as long as I want without having to worry about showering and getting to work on-time. They’re just so relaxed, and I’m hoping that this type of relaxed, “zen” feeling permeates my weekend and essay-related activities.

Here’s hoping!

And here’s to not getting mad when life throws you curveballs, but just channeling that energy into positive things!

And finally, here’s to cooking!

Hope you all have a lovely Friday….:)

10 responses to “Don’t Get Mad, Get Cookin’!

  1. ooh Lindsay, you’re my hero! i’m the “dive into the oreos” girl, but props to you for being constructive:) enjoy your run tomorro and gl with the you-know-what!

  2. Wow that really is a good looking meal! I had some scallops last night and they were just as amazing as you described 🙂

  3. oh no! so sorry to hear about the computer mishap but am so impressed what it caused to happen! delicious!

  4. If it makes you feel any better, my computer’s hard drive completely died a few days before my final graduate school thesis was due…and, of course, I hadn’t bothered to back it up. MY BAD!

    It was a terrible experience, but in the end I did indeed get my master’s degree. 🙂

    • Oh my gosh! That is so terrible…I’m glad it turned out okay in the end, but man! I probably would have cried myself to sleep for several days (or weeks) after the fact. Computers can be so heartless…my last hard drive crash took all my music and college pictures with it, but nothing quite as significant as a graduate thesis!

  5. So sorry Lindsay. I hate it when I lose what I’m writing, even if it’s not important. Where does it gO? and why? Love you…..

  6. Omg I am so sorry about your essays! That sort of thing has happened before so I know the totally crushed feeling you’re going through. ):

    I’m sure you will rewrite your app even better than before! But on the bright side, your pesto and pasta looks BOMB! You can come on over to my house any time your computer is acting up if that’s what it will get me lol

  7. That sucks. I hate when that sort of thing happens, and I’m not good at backing up files myself.

    That pesto looks excellent, and I don’t eat shellfish, but if I did, I’d try those scallops. That meal looks beautiful.

  8. I just made a “herb pesto” (basil, mint, tarragon, parsley) for the first time a few days ago..looks and sounds so fantastic. I feel like pesto is one of those things that is not made enough!!!

  9. Oh ouch, that seriously sucks. Technology always picks THE worst times to crash :/ At least you turned the day around in what I think is the best of ways possible…

    I’ve never made a pesto before but seeing it all around the blog world is inspiring me to do so! Your basil pine nut version just looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

