Bloks, Bison Burgers, And Babbling

Hello friends!

How has your weekend been?

Mine has been decent enough if not particularly exciting. After the “Computer Ate My Med School Applications” incident on Friday, things took a turn for the better (as they inevitably do after following a rough day). I redid the essays that were lost to the demon computer on Saturday and finished up a few more essays today. While this is definitely a step in the right direction, I still have a TON more of these essays left on my plate. It’s a bit overwhelming right now, especially given the fact that I need to start packing stuff up for my move back to Colorado three weeks from now. I just don’t even know where to begin, it feels like I have so much to do!

It’s funny how quickly you can go from feeling underwhelmed to fully overwhelmed within a span of only a few days. Oh well, guess all I can only take is one day at a time…and one application at a time too!

Let’s flashback to the beginning of the weekend, shall we?

I ran a 9 miler in the morning, and it felt great! I think my overall pace average around 10:16 minutes per mile, but I’m feeling too lazy to dig out the Garmin and double-check that stat for you. You’ll just have to take my word on it.

I tried out these Clif shot blocks for fuel on the run because I find the texture of the energy gels to be strange and a bit too reminiscent of snot for my taste. Pass….

I give these bloks a thumbs up on taste (they taste like gummy bears!), but a thumbs down on portability. It takes three rather large blocks to give you the same amount of calories as a single energy gel, and the package (which holds two servings) took up lot of room in my fuel belt. The blocks were fine on this relatively “short” long run because I only needed one serving of them, but I don’t think I would have the room to carry another pack of them for a “longer” long run. I might have to (begrudgingly) test out the gels on some of my future runs….sigh….

Post long-run glow?

Sure, that’s what we’ll call it. And yes, I am wearing my sunglasses in an awkward and lopsided fashion on my hat. That’s just how I roll.

Post long-run reward:

Starbucks Chocolate Vivanno smoothie. It was sweet and delicious and perfect for a post-recovery treat. I read in a magazine (can’t remember which) that it actually attains that magical 3:1 carbs to protein ratio that helps optimize the speed ofย muscle recovery. Who would have thought? Even though I’m not the biggest fan of Starbucks coffee, I will give Starbucks props for the excellence of the Vivanno smoothie.

Later on that day, I busted into my freezer and rediscovered a huge package of organic ground bison meat that I purchased several months ago from Whole Foods. Score!

I’m not a big fan of red meat, and I rarely seek it out at restaurants. But if I do decide to eat red meat, it has to satisfy the following criteria: it must be organic, grassfed, lean, and delicious. Luckily, bison meat from WF not only meets (or meats? haha! bad pun…i know) those criteria but surpasses them. If any of you are remotely curious about trying bison, I would definitely recommend it. Not only is bison one of the healthiest and most nutrient-rich meats out there (Source), it also has a slightly sweeter and richer taste than beef. If anything, bison tastes more “beef-like” than actual beef….if that makes any sense. I think the fact that bison are grassfed may have something to do with the distinct taste of bison meat (and for which I just can’t find the words to describe tonight! Argh! All this writing over the weekend has robbed me of my ability to form coherent thoughts anymore.)

I decided to combine my bison meat with gorgonzola, chopped fresh basil, garlic, and sun-dried tomatoes.

(Vegetarians, I apologize….meat pictures are coming up)

To make these Flavah-Packed Gorgonzola Bison Burgers, combine the following ingredients:

  • 1.5 pounds bison meat
  • 4 oz. crumbled gorgonzola cheese
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh basil
  • 1/4 cup chopped sun-dried tomatoes
  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • pepper (1/4 tsp) + salt (optional)

Form the meat into six equal-sized patties and grill for about 4 minutes per side (or till meat has reached desired level of doneness). Serves six!

Pre-grill, post-pattie formation.

I grilled up one of the patties for my dinner and froze the rest of them for a later date. I’m excited I have leftovers because these burgers were just packed with flavor. The combination of the bison meat with the gorgonzola really made these burgers sing!

I enjoyed my burger with some baked sweet potato fries and sauteed spinach with a drizzle of lemon juice.

Other eats from this weekend included PB&J Kodiak cakes:

I topped my pancakes with PB sauce, a drizzle of raspberry syrup, chia seeds, and banana slices.

They were pretty fab, if I do say so.

I also picked up some cherries at Whole Foods this afternoon! I rarely buy cherries because they are a bit too pricey for the likes of my wimpy AmeriCorps salary. When I saw them on sale this afternoon, I pounced on them, simultaneously frightening the children who happened to be near me during this little episode. Sorry kiddie-os. Ain’t nothin’ coming between me and my cherries. I only wish they lasted longer in my fridge. I go through them with unabashed abandon and reckless zeal!

I’m going to sign off of this random and babbly post now. Like I said, this weekend of eternal writing has robbed me of my ability to write things with a unified structure and theme. That is one thing I love about blogs though…it doesn’t really matter if each post is perfectly written. Sometimes, it just feels good to babble away.

What foods do you go through with unabashed abandon and reckless zeal?

5 responses to “Bloks, Bison Burgers, And Babbling

  1. Bison is good! Next time you are at WF, try picking up some grass fed beef. I eat it twice a week and my running has soared ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I actually made a similar dinner to yours, except meatballs instead of burgers and grass-fed beef instead of bison. Buttttt I also included sun dried tomatoes which is rockin’ with red meat. I have always wanted to try bison! If I do, I’m definitely snagging this recipe!

  3. Ice cream. When it’s offered at someone’s home, or if I have it at home, I’ll eat two bowls in a row. No shame, just love for ice cream.

  4. Nice job with your run! Since I’ve been blogging and have learned about 100202020 ways of using nut butters I go through them SO quickly now! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I’m not a red meat eater, but can appreciate an awesome meal like that!! That sounds absolutely delicious..I bet the beans added a really cool texture, too ๐Ÿ™‚ and I love your post run glow! Exercise sweat’s gorgeous ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

