The Return Of Blog Love Friday

Newsflash:

My 10 mile run this morning did not suck.

No really, it actually felt kinda, sorta decent, and trust me, that in and of itself is a victory! I was worried about this run after having such a rough time with the 3 miler yesterday. But I should have known not to doubt the power of the long run.

There’s just something about long runs that always manage to bring out the best in me.

Maybe, it’s because long runs require me to more mentally prepared than I normally am with my shorter runs. Perhaps it’s because they demand that I do them early in the morning, so I don’t have to contend with the heat of the later day (as I often do with my shorter runs). Or maybe, it’s because they demand that I choose nutritious food choices and eat with awareness the day preceding them otherwise….well….it’s not pleasant. Any of you runners out there know what I’m talking about.

I always try to bring my A-game to the long run for fear of what will happen if I don’t. Lord only knows…

Well, like I said, this long run went much better than expected. Even though it was super humid outside, it was nice and overcast, so I didn’t have to contend with the sun beating down on me during the run. As much as I enjoy pretending like I’m a gazelle running through the plains of Africa, I’d rather not deal with that kind of sun at a time when I’m shuffling away on a concrete path for hours on end.

Here are my run stats….

Total time: 1:47:27

Total distance: 10.10 miles

Mile Splits:

  • Mile 1: 11:05 (the course starts out straight uphill….ugh!)
  • Mile 2: 10:16
  • Mile 3: 10:31
  • Mile 4: 10:52
  • Mile 5: 10:58 (ate 3 Clif shot bloks)
  • Mile 6: 10:35
  • Mile 7: 10:37
  • Mile 8: 11:13 (ate a big, honkin’ medjool date)
  • Mile 9: 10:34
  • Mile 10: 9:51 (v. proud of this mile!)
  • Mile 10+: 1:47

Avg pace: 10:39 min/mile

I’m really proud that I ended this run strong. In fact, I was surprised to see that I ran a sub-ten minute mile as my last mile, but I knew that I had given it some effort and pushed myself. I’d much rather start my run off really slowly and finish strong than start off too quickly and then be miserable for the rest of the run.

Slow and steady wins the race, kids. Or at the very least, slow and steady finishes the race, which is about all you can ask for when the race in question is a marathon!

I’m heading up to Boston again this weekend for my last meet-up with my college friends before I head back to CO in a couple of weeks. Should be fun, but bittersweet. I love hanging with my college pals…they’re the best!

To leave you all something to do over the weekend (even though I’m sure you guys have exciting plans), I thought I’d bring back Blog Love Friday. I forgot to do it last Friday, but not to worry. It’s making a comeback. Check out these posts if you have some spare time!

Allrighty now, I’m going to get ready for my Boston trip. Have a great weekend everybody!

10 responses to “The Return Of Blog Love Friday

  1. Woop woop for the run! Those are killer stats. I think if I tried a 10 miler right now I’d be knocked out flat!

    I’m so honored by the shoutout, btw! Reader support means the world to me 🙂

  2. What you say is totally true- I think I feel so much better about how my long runs turn out… because I do really take care of myself the day before I do one. Plus, the accomplished feeling at the end kicks butt…

  3. Congrats on the awesome run! I love the Blog Love Friday idea as well (:

  4. Congrats on the long run!

  5. Thanks for the shout out 🙂 And AWESOME job on the run!

  6. Congrats on the run. Hope your Boston trip is loads of fun

  7. Way to rock the 10 miler! I can’t even imagine training for a marathon in this heat. Majorrr props 🙂

    Enjoy your trip to Boston!

  8. Oh that’s great that the run went well! Nice work!

  9. Congrats on an awesome long run!!! And thanks for the shout-out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

