Grilled Buttermilk Tempeh

Hello friends!

I hope you all had excellent weekends….mine was pretty stellar. In a nutshell, I hung out with some great friends, did a ton of walking, ate good food, saw Inception (which blew my socks off….everyone, GO see this movie!), and was introduced to self-serve frozen yogurt for the first time (Julia, I am forever indebted to you).

Swoooon….talk about love at first taste.

For those of you who’ve never heard of self-serve frozen yogurt, it’s exactly what it sounds like. You serve yourself however much you like of this lighter-than-air, uber-refreshing, nonfat frozen yogurt and top it with the toppings of your choice. The best toppings (in my opinion) were the fresh summer fruit (including blueberries, raspberries, mango, etc.). They paired perfectly with the light texture of the frozen yogurt.

To be perfectly honest, the self-serve fro yo might have changed my life. It tasted so amazing and sat much lighter in my stomach than regular ice cream. I hope against hopes that Boulder has some self-serve fro yo shops for me to frequent otherwise I’ll have to make road trips to a city that does!

On an unrelated note, have any of you ever heard of a website called TasteSpotting?

Basically, it’s a website devoted to beautiful pictures of food, and I have spent more time than I care to admit perusing the pictures and checking out the blogs behind the pictures. It’s a quality foodie website, and I would highly recommend to it anyone who loves gorgeous food photography (as I do).

I recently submitted a couple of pictures to TasteSpotting to see if my pictures might make the cut. TasteSpotting reviews each and every single submission they receive to see if the pictures and accompanying blog post meet their standards of quality. You can read more about this here. I didn’t really expect my submissions to get the thumbs up, but I thought I’d give it a shot anyway.ย Much to my surprise, I received word from the folks at TasteSpotting that both of my photos had been accepted; and for a while, my pics were featured on the front page of the website!

Yayyyyyyy!

I had what I like to call a “minor life victory” (i.e. something that won’t change my life for the long haul, but definitely brightens my week). I definitely did my happy dance when I saw my pics on the site. ๐Ÿ™‚

Here are my published submissions….

I just can’t even express to you all how much fun I’m having with this photography business. I know I have so much still to learn with photography (I feel like I learn something new everyday I take photos), but it was very encouraging to have my photos chosen for TasteSpotting. Gotta love a nice pat on the back!

Dinner

For dinner, I wanted to try out a grilled buttermilk chicken recipe I had originally seen featured onย Health for the Whole Self. Unfortunately, I was lacking in the chicken department, so I decided to make a vegetarian of the dish using tempeh as my meat substitute of choice. Why not, right?

Grilled Buttermilk Tempeh

Serves 3-4.

Adapted from Katie’s Grilled Buttermilk Chicken recipe.

Ingredients:

  • One package tempeh, cut into thin rectangles
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

Directions:

  1. Steam or boil tempeh pieces for 10 minutes to remove bitterness and prevent tempeh from drying out on the grill.
  2. Combine buttermilk, sea salt, pepper, garlic, and paprika in a bowl.
  3. Dump steamed tempeh and buttermilk marinade into a large ziplock bag and place in fridge. Marinate tempeh for anywhere from 30 minutes to overnight. Flip bag over a couple of times during this period.
  4. Grill the tempeh on a medium hot grill for about 3-5 minutes per side. While grilling, brush tempeh with extra marinade to keep from drying out.

The marinade was so simple yet delicious…..

As for the taste, I would give it a thumbs up. While I think I would have enjoyed it more had I used chicken, I definitely think the tempeh worked as a substitute.

On the side, I grilled up a pile of summer squash and zucchini.

Party platter style:

My actual plate:

I had about four slices of the tempeh (I ate one before I took the pic…whoops!), the grilled veggies, and a thawed piece of cornbread slathered with butter + honey.

The only way to enjoy cornbread, if you ask me.

Anyway, I’m going to head off now to whip up some banana soft serve ice cream. I don’t have any ice cream on-hand right now, and I can’t get the thought of soft serve out of my head. Argh….why was I ever introduced to that beautiful soft serve fro yo stuff? It will haunt my dreams (a la Inception?).

Nighty night!

Question(s):

  • How were your weekends?
  • Is anyone else as obsessed with self serve frozen yogurt as I now am?
  • Does anyone have any thoughts about that last scene from Inception???
9 responses to “Grilled Buttermilk Tempeh

  1. Inception was good! I really liked it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. nice work with the Tastespotting! and that thing in the last scene totally kept spinning…. ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. I’m so glad you tried the buttermilk marinade with tempeh!!! Those photos are absolutely gorgeous!

  4. That looks SO GOOD! And I am also obsessed with fro yo – however we have no places even remotely around me ):

    It literally breaks my heart

  5. wow! that looks amazing! Where did you get these great photography skills?! You should do a post on that! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. haven’t seen the movie and i’ve never experienced self serve yogurt. i can, however, say that i had a lovely weekend in new orleans!! posting about it tonight :). and i did hit up the ben and jerry’s in the denver airport ont he way home. i re-falling in love with ice cream cones…. soooooooo good in the summer.

  7. Okay so I’ve got no answers for your actual questions – lol – but your tempeh looks so amazing! I’ve had tempeh several times, but never actually made it myself. For some reason I’m afraid it’s going to turn out with a horrid texture!

  8. This recipe looks very tasty. I ll try it for sure

  9. You thought your pics wouldn’t get accepted?? Girl, they’re amazing! The colors/texture…hah I sound like a photography critic.

    And I also loveee that you have a buttermilk tempeh recipe. Most people think of tempeh as a vegetarian/vegan thing…which puts buttermilk out of the question. But you’re opening it up to the omni public haha ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

