One Seagull To Rule Them All

Did anybody else out there run cross country in high school? I was a card-carrying member of that illustrious group of “smart jocks” during my four years of high schooling. I can recall the days when I was a young and naive runner who thought a 5-k run necessitated a full carbo loading session almost equivalent to the caloric demands of a marathoner. Oh, to be young and totally unaware of anything about athlete nutrition… Anyway, back in my cross country running days, the 3 mile run was all I knew. In fact, I didn’t realize a world of running even existed outside of the 5k. 10-K? Huh…What’s that?

I’m glad my running horizons have since expanded because I can firmly say that I now HATE 5ks with a passion. They’re too “sprint-y” (for lack of a better word) for my taste, and I have a hard time pacing myself properly. I either start out way too fast, or I take the whole thing much too slowly. As a result, it’s now a ritual that every Tuesday and Thursday, when Hal has me running 3 milers, I cry and wail before heading out the door (it helps ease the pain). I hate them that much.

Thus, I’m glad to report that today’s 3 mile run was not AS painful as some of the others have been. I ran three consecutively faster sub-10 minutes miles, leaving me with a nice negative split for my efforts. Huzzah!

All The Stats, Ma’am

  • Mile 1: 9:36
  • Mile 2: 9:34
  • Mile 3: 9:26

Total distance: 3.0 miles, Total time: 28:38 minutes

Take that, 3 miler!

After my run, I took some of my residents to the beach (per their request) for the final time before I leave next week. We had a lovely day enjoying the sun and one another’s company. The weather couldn’t have been more perfect: hot but not humid, sunny but not overly so.

Just like lounging out on the French countryside….except we’re in CT. Near some portapotties. Shhhh….I’ll try not to ruin the scene.

One is the loneliest number….

The seagulls rule over the land.

…and pester the beach patrons. Stinkin’ gulls.

You can walk over to this island during low tide, but you have to make sure you get back across to the mainland before the tide rushes back in otherwise it’ll beΒ Lord of the Flies all over again.

There were some ridiculously huge houses perched along this chunk of beach land.

One gull to rule them all.

Even though I hate sea gulls, this guy looked pretty pimp sitting on his post.

Mmmmm….so serene.

After spending a day out in the sun, I was a starvin’ marvin for dinner. I got home around 5:45 and from the grumbling of my tummy, I knew I couldn’t wait much longer for food. I whipped up something fast and easy…..salmon filet broiled for 8 minutes in a homemade honey + dijon mustard + apple vinegar marinade (1 tsp each, combined, and stirred).

Alongside some couscous (roasted garlic flavah)….which was ready to roll in about 5 minutes. I love how quickly it cooks!

…and some steamed frozen veggies seasoned with pepper. Frozen veggies aren’t my favorite way to get my vegetables into my diet, but they were all I had left in the fridge. A grocery trip is definitely on tap for tomorrow!

All together, these three components made for a lovely, balanced meal. I was very satisfied.

I also received some VERY cool and exciting news today, but I’m not sure I can share it with you guys quite yet. The second I’m positive I can tell you guys, I will…because it’s really cool!!!! Ahhhhh. I apologize for teasing you like this. I hate it when bloggers do this to me (i.e. the whole “I have a big surprise, but I can’t tell you…but by even mentioning it on the blog, I’m making you all wonder about it for the next few posts until I mention it again” schtick,) and I’m annoyed with myself for doing it to you.

But I can be a bit of a tease like that. πŸ™‚

Till we meet again….in internetland.

Question: What sports did you play in high school?

16 responses to “One Seagull To Rule Them All

  1. I played tennis in high school. Lol I actually HATED running. I don’t think I could run a mile back then. What have I become?

    • I honestly would have NEVER guessed that. I thought for sure you were an x-country runner from high school! Lol. You should write more about how you got into running. I’m so curious now…

  2. I LOVE what you wrote about high school XC!! I was ALSO a “card-carrying member of that illustrious group of ‘smart jocks'” (haha what a perfect phrase!!) and I felt the same way. And now I’m also like you — I hate 5ks. I rarely ever do them. I’d much rather go out and run for a couple of hours than feel like I have to sprint for 3.1 miles.

    Congrats on your great 3 mile run yesterday, though!

    Your pictures of the beach are amazing!! It looks so beautiful.

  3. Your pictures are perfect. Seriously, open a gallery πŸ˜€

    I was a cheerleader in high school (no laughing…). But I did backflips and jumps and stuff & def. wasn’t the valley girl on the sideline flirting with all the football players haha

  4. Ha, I ran cross country one year and defintely associated every run with bagels πŸ™‚

  5. That meal looks so tasty!

    I played soccer in high school. And girls soccer was big in my area so it was quite a commitment. I felt like I had joined a cult. It was fun, though. I miss soccer and having a place to vent my aggression and competitiveness.

    Now that I’ve made myself look crazy, I would like to tell you that I enjoy your blog quite a lot. I’m glad I found it.

  6. I ran cross country and played varsity soccer πŸ™‚ It was super hard to juggle that with my traveling club team as well!! Coaches were never kind to those missing one practice for another! LOoooove salmon πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed it!

  7. I don’t really like seagulls (annoying!) but they are so cute, if I had to admit it.

    I played basketball freshman year, but no other sports for the rest of high school. I got a job instead and spent all my time there!

  8. I looove that image of the bench on the beach. If you ever make prints please send one to me πŸ™‚

    • That’s my fav image too. I might print out some of my Nikon images at home in which case a print of the bench + the nut butter sample pack shall be sent your way. πŸ™‚

  9. Killer run! Running sub 10:00 miles is definitely a goal of mine for the end of the year. I didn’t play ANY sports in high school. I am notoriously clumsy and uncoordinated. Haha, wait, how did I end up such an avid climber??

  10. ohh hs cross country, what delightful memories of the carbo nites. the menu included something like 3 plates of spaghetti and meat sauce, half a loaf of garlic bread, a smidge of salad, and about 5 scotcharoos. that should get you ready for a 3-miler, right?!

    • Lol. Sounds like my pre-race pasta party menu too! Glad to know I wasn’t the only one who ate a ridiculous amount to prep for a 3 mile race. Bahaha.

  11. I’m in high school, and I run xc and winter and spring track. For xc, with our warm-up and cool-down, the total mileage for the day is more like 6.5 miles. And those 3.1 miles in the race are super fast (so far, 19:54 is my PR, but some girls on the team run 18:30 or faster)! It’s not the same as just running a three-miler. It is a race! No, marathoning carbo-loading is not a necessity, but it isn’t an eat-breakfast-after-an-easy-run day either.

Leave a Reply

