Bring On The Random

Because I’m leaving Hartford in less than five days, my meals are becoming infinitely more random. Normally, I’m a huge fan of the “one pot” meal concept, but in my attempt to avoid going to the grocery store between now and my departing date of Saturday, I’ve started making more segmented meals featuring a protein + a healthy carb + lots of veggies. No relation among the three. Nothing tying them all together. No unifying theme!

In other words, lame.

Well, maybe not lame….but random.

This upcoming week of dinners will probably feature many more of these “random dinners.” I have lots of frozen fish and burgers to use up! Tonight, I went with a salmon filet which I allowed to sit overnight in a ginger-teriyaki marinade. Once I started getting hungry this evening, I broiled it for about 6 minutes.

Wham, bam. Thank you ma’am. Done before you know it!

I had a big pile of steamed broccoli for some greenage….

….and a side of Trader Joe’s Harvest Grains blend.

Has anyone ever tried this? It’s one of my favorite things from TJ’s- full of texture, color, and great taste! Before I leave Connecticut, I think I’m going to have to pick up a few more bags to take back with me to Trader Joe’s-less Colorado.

This meal was simple, clean, and colorful. Just what I needed to get back on track after an indulgent weekend!

More Randomness

Matt tagged me to do a 10 Random Facts post; and since I’m all about the randomness (as I mentioned above), I decided to roll with this and pull out some random gems from my life for you all to check out.

Here goes…

1) Even though I am almost 23 years old, I still have two stuffed animals that I treat as though they were people. One is a dolphin named Chelsea, and the other is a killer whale named Mikah. I got both at the San Diego SeaWorld when I was 4….because I was apparently not the most creative 4-year old in the world, I named them after the orca and dolphin that performed for us that day. I love my stuffed animals! πŸ™‚

2) I can touch my tongue to my nose. What can I say? I’ve got skillz….or a very long tongue. Maybe both?

3) I hate the color pink. I don’t know why, but I do. I just don’t think it looks good with my skin tone!

4) My favorite store is Anthroplogie. What girl doesn’t like this store?

5) I’m an obsessive sports fan, and I know as much about football as most boys. I look forward to autumn not only for the fabulous weather and beautiful foliage, but for the return of FOOTBALL SEASON. Give me football and some buffalo wings, and I’m a happy camper. Although, I must admit, I’m all about the NFL and not college football. I like to see some semblance of a defense during a football game, thank you very much.

6) I was on my high school swim team for three years. It was my “other” sport during high school, and I was actually a much better swimmer than I was a cross country runner. Not that I was particularly good at swimming either, but I didn’t come in dead last Β in my races (unlike my x-country races! lol).

7) Stepping on a pile of crunch autumn leaves automatically perks me up if I’m feeling down. I don’t know why, but that lovely crunching noise makes me indescribably happy.

8 ) I hate fruit stickers. For some reason, they freak me out. They’re flimsy and pop up in the most unexpected places after you think you’ve already discarded them. How do they do that? Is it a conspiracy? Either way, I don’t like ’em.

9) I’ve been skiing since I was five, andΒ I just love spending time in the mountains on my skis. Always have, always will. Nothing beats the feeling of a series of tight turns carved out in fresh powder.

10) I am a seasonal knitter. The second it drops below 70 degrees in the fall, I’ll bust out the knitting needles and knit a bevy of scarves and hats. Come the spring when it hits 50 degrees, the knitting needles go back into retirement.

Hope you enjoyed another sampling of my quirks.

I’d love to know some of your quirks….Tell me one random fact about you!

18 responses to “Bring On The Random

  1. Haha you already know 10 random facts about me πŸ˜‰

  2. Number 5…there are no words to describe how much I love this. Truly a girl after my own heart!!! I’m so bummed – all my boys get to go tour the Raymond James stadium tomorrow, and my lead teacher assigned me to a tour of downtown Ybor with the girls instead :/ Bummah, I love the stadium!

  3. I have a stuffed dog that I got in New York City when I was four. It’s name – New York Dog – of course! Four year olds are very creative!

    Random fact: I’m afraid of birds. All birds. Real fear.

  4. lol a knitter huh? Love it! (:

  5. Oh I love that harvest grains blend – yum!

  6. Can’t wait to see you. I hate ironng-yuck

  7. I love random meals…and the excitement of an upcoming trip. And I’m an obsessive football fan too, but mostly just over college football. I’m seriously counting down until the season starts πŸ™‚

  8. I’ve never step foot in an Anthropologie :o!

  9. oooh what a great post!!!! Wow I love that you learned to ski from such a young age!

    • Ahhh thanks! As far as skiing goes, that just kinda happens when you’re raised in Colorado. It’s a shame not take advantage of the Rockies! πŸ™‚

  10. Heyy girly! I just found your blog and can’t believe all the amazing food you have on here! You have a new follower!

    xo have a fab evening

  11. I can beat almost every single song on Rock
    Band on Expert… but only on the drums.

Leave a Reply

