Smoky Bacon Tofu Salad

Oh yes, friends. I went there.

Bacon. Tofu. Combined.

Awesome.

The mixture of the two seems strange, doesn’t it? Tofu is generally regarded as a healthy staple of the vegetarian’s diet whereas bacon is generally regarded as a fatty staple of meatlovers everywhere. Tofu has a mild flavor whereas a mere splash of bacon fat can add truckloads of flavor to any dish. Tofu has a strange spongy texture whereas bacon (once cooked) features a pleasant, crispy exterior.

They are distinctly different beasts.

In spite of these differences, I can firmly say that I like both. I eat both. I adore both, and goshdarnit, I wanted to combine the two into a single dish because I knew it could be good! I knew tofu and bacon could live and work and play together, and all would rejoice throughout the land.

Sho ‘nuf, I was right.

Enter:

Smoky Bacon Tofu Salad

Wait a sec, wait a sec! Don’t jump to conclusions now….I know this photo doesn’t make the salad look particularly attractive, so let me explain how I made it.

First, I roasted a couple of red bell peppers. I knew that this would give the salad that smoky taste I was looking for and pump up the flavor of the tofu.

Hello beautiful!

I roasted them over the stovetop open flame until their skins were about 90% blackened. I then removed them from the flame and placed them in a brown paper bag for about 10 minutes to cool.

Placing them in the bag helps to loosen up the skin, so you can peel it off more easily.

Finished + peeled products: two roasted bell peppers!

I cored and diced them….

Meanwhile, I mashed up a block of Lite Firm tofu with a fork until it was nice and crumbly. Looks almost like feat cheese, doesn’t it?

I added in the diced peppers to my crumbled tofu….

….along with some BBQ sauce, Worchestire sauce, and mustard.

Then came the key ingredient: the BACON!

Confession: I used turkey bacon in this recipe rather than regular bacon. I had it on-hand and wasn’t about to run and grab some of the regular stuff…I’m sure either variation would taste great in this recipe.

Confession 2: I think I might prefer turkey bacon to regular bacon. It’s so much less greasy…

Moving on….I mixed up my bacon and my tofu salad to create a delightful salad that I plan on using as a main component in future wraps and sandwiches. It’s smoky and BBQ-flavored, and it’s packed with protein!

Bacon-tofu salad, who knew you would be this good?

Here’s the full recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 block firm tofu, drained and pressed
  • 3 slices bacon of choice
  • 1/4 cup BBQ sauce
  • 1/2 tbsp Worchestire sauce
  • 1/2 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 2 roasted red bell peppers, diced

Directions:

  1. Mash up tofu using a fork.
  2. Add in roasted red bell peppers, mustard, Worchestire sauce, and BBQ sauce and mix till combined.
  3. Meanwhile, cook bacon on a skillet until crispy. Dice into smaller chunks, and add to tofu mixture.

Pretty easy, right? I can’t wait to eat this for lunch again tomorrow. 🙂

In addition to making weird omnivorous lunch salads, I ran three miles this morning and had one of my best runs in weeks!

Wanna know why? Because I forgot to bring the Garmin with me! But it turned out to be a great thing…I don’t know how quickly I ran; I don’t know my mile splits. I didn’t have to think about my pace throughout the run, so I was able to focus on more on the overall experience of running. The beautiful trees above me; the scenery in front of me; my rhythmic breathing. If anything, I felt like I was able to be more in tune with my body than I normally am during a run. It felt so freeing just to run for the sake of running. I need to remember to do this more often.

Tomorrow, the Garmin will have to return because I’ll need him to track my mileage. I’m doing a 12 miler (gulp) midweek so that I don’t have to cram it into my jam-packed Saturday (i.e. the day I leave Hartford). I’m hoping that my good running vibes from today rub off onto my run tomorrow. I’m nervous about it, for some reason.

Well, gotta get to bed. I’m going to try to get up early to get this beast over with!

Question: What gets your heart all a-flutter? Bacon….or tofu?

11 responses to “Smoky Bacon Tofu Salad

  1. While I like tofu, I LOVE bacon. I would much rather have it 😉

  2. Mmm, neither. I haven’t eaten bacon for over twelve years, and don’t eat tofu because I supposedly have a soy allergy. (I say supposedly because I’ve been tested as having one, but have eaten plenty of foods with soy that don’t seem to affect me. Actually, I’ve actually never eaten tofu.)

  3. good luck with the 12-miler! i’m sure your bacon-tofu masterpiece will provide you with all the fuel you need to finish strong:D

  4. Oh I bet that combination was delicious!

  5. Wow that looks delicious!! I seriously love the recipes you post. Why oh why are we not best friends?

    Good luck on your 12 miler babe!

  6. I love the step-by-step pictures (I’m a visual person) 😀

    Being vegan and all…I’d say tofu makes my heart a flutter! Except it all depends on the marinade. If we’re being more specific, I like crispy, peanutty ‘fu.

    One of these days I’m going to ditch my Garmin before my run!

  7. awesome! i’m still totally afraid of tofu… so i’m going to have to go with bacon 😉

  8. Wow, what a combo…but leave it to you to “healthify” the “non-healthy” aspect of the meal with the turkey bacon…haha

Leave a Reply

