Feeling Like A Runner

Today, I dragged by butt out of bed at 5:15 AM to go conquer a 12 mile run before work. Ya know…the usual.

NOT.

For some reason, this run had me a bit nervous. It’s the longest training run I’ve done thus far in my life (before this, I had run an 11 miler while training for my half marathons), and I was just a bit worried about how my legs would handle the run.

Before heading out, I had a cup of coffee and a whole wheat bagel spread with almond butter + Crofter’s jam, both of which sat nicely in my stomach. I think this type of meal is going to be my go-to pre long-run fuel. It seems to satisfy me for a long time, and it doesn’t upset my digestive system during the run. Score on both counts!

It was such a beautiful morning during my run- the sun was shining yet the ground was blanketed in a shroud of mist. At one point, I trotted across a bridge perched over a placid river and was treated with a view of several white church steeples poking out above the fog in the distance. So stereotypically and perfectly New England-esque. I smiled to myself and gave an imaginary hug to small-town New England beauty. I know I will miss this when I leave New England on Saturday.

For the most part, I kept up a nice, solid pace, and I was really happy with the run. My feet were kinda tired at the end, but I guess that’s to be expected when you’re on your feet for over two hours!

Here are the stats, Jack:

Mile Splits

  • Mile 1: 10:00
  • Mile 2: 10:11
  • Mile 3: 10:15
  • Mile 4: 9:58 (ate a Hammer gu around mile 4.5)
  • Mile 5: 10:16
  • Mile 6: 10:43 (I have NO idea why my pace dropped so much during this mile? Weird….)
  • Mile 7: 10:18
  • Mile 8: 10:17
  • Mile 9: 10:19 (ate a couple of dates at mile 9.5)
  • Mile 10: 10:04
  • Mile 11: 10:01
  • Mile 12: 9:55 (finish strong!)

Average pace: 10:10/mile

Total milage: 12 miles; Total Time: 2:02:12

I then came home and made one of the ugliest green monsters I’ve ever made. It was glorious….the perfect post-run recovery food! It cooled me right off and satisfied my hungry stomach. I immediately felt better after slurping it down.

Don’t judge it for its color. It has feelings too….

In the post-12 miler recovery mix:

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • handful blueberries
  • 1 scoop Vega chocolate mix
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 tbsp Coach’s Oats
  • 1/2 cup soy milk, 1/2 cup water
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 1/2 tsp xantham
  • ice!

Blended up and served in a bowl for one hungry runner!

It was after today’s run that I thought about how I really consider myself a runner now. For the longest time, I had a hard time telling people that I was a runner for fear that the sub 7-minute mile runners would jump out of the woodwork and ambush me for daring to place myself in such an elite group. Me, the generally poky and unimpressivel 10 minute/mile runner. At best, I could label myself a jogger…I thought.

But ya know what? I reject the idea that runners must run quickly. I am a runner regardless of my pace simply because I thrive on covering the distance and getting those miles under my belt. I love going the distance! Cue cheesy Hercules theme song…

What makes me feel like a runner? The following:

  • Buying gels and goos
  • Running two hours and thinking that this is normal
  • Chafing (I had some annoying chafe-age after today’s run that I only discovered when I was showering…OWWWW!)
  • Callused feet
  • Foam rolling
  • Wicking shirts
  • Wearing out running shoes like it’s my job
  • Running skirts
  • Going to bed at 10 and waking up before 6 to run during the coolest hours of the day
  • Impromptu fertilization of fields/bushes during long runs (you guys know what I’m talking about)
  • Being six miles away from my car and KNOWING that I’ll make it back, no problem

What makes you feel like a runner?

12 responses to “Feeling Like A Runner

  1. You are a runner!

    What makes me feel like a runner is the huge pile of shoes sitting by my front door.

  2. Have to say using Body Glide makes me feel like a badass runner. Nice job getting a long run in during the week. This week has been so crazy for me I haven’t done anything except work. ugh!

  3. Three things:
    1. You’re right. I’m not too psyched about the chocolate Vega powder. Bummer.
    2. I love that John Bingham quote about running — “There is no test to pass, no license to earn, no membership card to get. You just run.” So even though I’ve never run more than 9 miles and I just like to plod along, yes I’m a runner too! And I can prove it from my shorts tan line 🙂
    3. Congrats on the mid-week run. Drive safe this weekend!

  4. This is my favorite post of the day! Love it! I had a hard time feeling like a runner for a long time, too. Whenever someone found out I ran, I’d add…”Well, I’m not fast or anything…” But then I realized, that’s lame. I wake up early. I lace up my sneaks and get out there like any other runner. You are a runner!

    Another reason I love this post…I am getting up tomorrow for my first 12-miler of training. It’s my longest training run ever and my longest solo run ever. In a way, it scares me, but it also makes me that much more excited to conquer it!

    Great job!

  5. Oh man! I didn’t know I was chafing on Sunday until I was in the shower too! That sucked! Salt in the wound! Salt in the wound!

    Today I just bought two cases of Hammer gels. THAT makes me feel like a runner! ha ha ha

  6. P.S. And for the record, I’m a slow-poke too. Between 11-12min miles!

  7. I think the pile of running shoes in my closet makes me feel like a runner the most lol

    And question – how do you carry the stuff you eat during your run? I’ve been contemplating bringing snacks for my long runs (9-12 miles), but I really don’t want to hold them in my hands!

    Can you tell I’m new? lol

    • I bought a nerdy thing called a “Fuel belt” that I wear around my waist like a fanny pack. It has a pouch for my keys and food, and it holds a couple of hand-sized water bottles that I store my water + sports drink in. I feel like a middle-aged soccer mom when I wear it, but it works! Lol….

  8. I like the one about running two hours and feeling normal. I’m not anywhere near up to two hour runs, but I still feel pretty good about going on any runs.

    What makes me feel like a runner? Buying running clothes, wearing my running watch (I actually just got asked at the farmers’ market yesterday if I run, and the woman pointed at my watch), and waking early to enjoy a cool morning run.

  9. this month by best friend from home and an old boyfriend pointed out my “enormous” and “humongous” thighs (their words, not mine), and instead of being offended, i was like “damn straight– i’m a runner!”

    great post:)

    • Hells yes! My thighs have gotten bigger too while marathon training (in the sense that they are packing a lot more muscle than they used to)! But I love it….I love that my legs are strong and carry me endless miles.

Leave a Reply

