Saying Goodbye

How do you say goodbye to a group of people who have changed your life?

If anyone finds a way that doesn’t break your heart, please let me know because I was the biggest teary mess today while saying goodbye to the residents and staff at my AmeriCorps site.

As excited as I am to return to Colorado and embark upon new adventures, I can’t help but feel a surge of bittersweet memories from this past year in Hartford. I will never, never forget this year of service….and I know it has changed me for the better. I have grown so much and learned so much during this year; it’s difficult to even express it. I think, above all, that my AmeriCorps service has led me further along the path of becoming who I was always meant to be. I am more myself now at the end of service than I was at the beginning of service, if that makes any sense whatsoever. I’ve become more confident in my abilities to reach out to others and provide them with emotional support, and I know that I can interact well with a wide variety of people, which will hopefully prove useful when I become a doctor. Above all, this AmeriCorps experience has further instilled in me an ethic of service that I know will permeate all my future endeavors….

…but for now, I can’t help but be a little nostalgic about all the people who I met at my site. I will miss them so much!

After all the crying and the packing and the poignant goodbyes, my dad (who flew in this evening to help drive me + my stuff back to Colorado Springs) and I decided to enjoy a great Thai dinner at a little place in Hartford called East-West Grille.

I loved the decor. The restaurant is actually a renovated diner.

To start, we samples some chilled New Zealand mussels which were marinated in a spicy sauce of sorts.

My dad and I both adored these mussels. They had so much depth of flavor. Hot, spicy, sweet, light, tangy! Bottom line: delicious!

For my main entree, I went with my tried and true Thai favorite, drunken noodles with tofu and fresh vegetables. This noodle dish features a rich and sweet basil sauce mixed up with wide, flat rice noodles, and it’s just perfect. I always order it when I go to a Thai place!

Paying homage to my last day in New England, I enjoyed a Sam Adams Cherry Wheat ale. It really hit the spot…I loved the lingering sweet cherry undertones!

And with that, I’m headed to bed. It was a long, draining day, and tomorrow is going to be another long day (although much less emotionally draining thankfully!). My dad and I are driving 800 miles from Hartford to Dayton, Ohio. Here’s hoping it goes smoothly! See ya in Ohio….

3 responses to “Saying Goodbye

  1. Glad you had a great experience!

    I am a sucker for Thai food. Drunken Noodles makes me SWOON 😉

  2. Lindsay, I can completely sympathize with you. The year after I finished college I did AmeriCorps in Vermont, whic I still look back to as one of the best years of my life. Not only did I feel so rewarded with my service, but I made incredible friends and felt like I was really making a difference. It’s okay to be sad, and you should feel proud too.

  3. I’m glad you are taking a great experience and so many memories back to Colorado. I’m sure there are many people in Hartford that share the same sentiments about their time with you. Wishing you the best with the move!

Leave a Reply

