Epic Music, Epic Spiciness

After my epic day of mountain climbing on Saturday, I had another epic day planned for Sunday. Epic in a completely different way.

I didn’t have to face cliffs or rocks or summits as I did during my mountain sojourn. No. This time, the enemies were smelly hippies, intense heat, and drunk high schoolers. In other words, I spent my Sunday at an all-day outdoor music festival, specifically the Mile High Music Festival in Denver!

A lot of people were getting their Rocky Mountain high on, if you catch my drift, and weren’t exactly in the right state of mind to realize where the heck they were stepping as they meandered through the crowds. Armed with sunscreen, chairs, blankets, water bottles, and some dark chocolate, my friend Heather and I were ready to defend our turf against all the crazies who happened to stumble upon our blanket.

Don’t we just look intimidating? Not. Maybe that’s why all the drunks liked to stumble by us on their way to go barf in a trashcan. We just look like the type of people that will get out of the way for them….and we certainly did. Neither of us are stupid enough to stand our ground when the drunkies are out and about. They could just as easily yak on your blanket as in the trashcan.

In addition to the smorgasbord of people watching, we might have also seen a few musical acts. Ya know. Because it is a music festival.

Train put on a solid set. I just loved hearing their songs Meet Virginia and Hey, Soul Sister live.

Weezer made a fantastic appearance too. Their frontman had the energy of 100 Energizer bunnies on crack. He was bouncing all over the place during their set, and his enthusiasm was infectious. The crowd (including myself) ate it up as they breezed through a bunch of their hits and a hilarious cover of Lady Gaga’s Poker Face.

The headliner and main event of the Mile High Music Festival was Dave Matthews Band, and they certainly did not disappoint. Their set was epic, sprawling (almost a bit too sprawling, to be honest….I grow weary of jams after they reach the 10 minutes mark), and perfectly suited for the Colorado crowds. Regardless, I enjoyed hearing the prodigious musical talents of the band’s members. Dave is a veritable guitar hero!

How, I wish I could have brought my DSLR to this event! My P + S just couldn’t hack it in this kind of lighting. Regardless, take my word on it. The little tiny guy in the black shirt in this pic is Dave.

All in all, it was a fantastic outing. Mile High magic for sure.

Now, don’t think that I’ve forgotten about the food. I know I have a tendency to drone on and on about mountains and Colorado and things of this nature, but not to worry. To go along with my kickin’ music festival action, I rocked a pretty epic meal today.

Enter: the spiciest green chili I’ve ever tasted in my life.

Now, I don’t go around throwing around the word “spicy” lightly. I adore spicy foods, and rarely is anything too spicy for me. If I was a lesser food champion, this chili might have been too much for my poor little tastebuds.

But I’m a food beast, and I definitely beasted this bowl of chili from King’s Chef, a little diner in downtown Colorado Springs well-renowned for the both the quality and the spiciness of their chili.

Doesn’t look like much from the outside, but this joint had some great food!

The entire dinner fit eight people tops. It was legitimate.

They love their green chiles here. 🙂

Because few people have the cajones to finish off the whole bowl of habanero-infused green chili, I received a reward for my efforts: membership in the “King’s Chef Clean Plate Club.”

I was honored.

I wore my sticker proudly. You bet I did.

The chili may have left my lips red and swollen for a solid hour or two afterward, and I might not be able to taste anything ever again.

BUT… it was totally worth it to finish off that chili. Best bowl of green chili I’ve ever had.

Question: What’s the spiciest meal you’ve ever had?

8 responses to “Epic Music, Epic Spiciness

  1. That sounds like a lot of fun, and congrats on the chili eating. The spiciest food I’ve ever had doesn’t stand out for me, but in Mexico I ate a lot of meals with habanero pepper, which is a really hot one. In fact, I believe it’s the spiciest pepper in the world.

  2. ugh spicy foods = death for me! you SHOULD be proud! i am super jealous of your music festival, especially the train section, that sounds so great. and most importantly, your hair looks AWESOME in those pics! what is your secret? how do you tame the mane? i absolutely need summer curly-hair tips haha:P

    • Haha…thanks! I honestly am not doing anything differently to it than I did on the East coast. I use leave-in conditioner, some Frizz-ease gel, scrunch it, and then let it air dry. The fact that the humidity level here is nonexistent helps immensely with the curly hair issues. Some days, the mane behaves better than others, as I’m sure you know. 🙂 It has a life of its own!

  3. I love diners! They make some awesome food 🙂

    Glad you had fun at the concert too!

  4. The music festival looks like so much fun! I love Weezer 🙂 Spicy foods are the best! I remember the first time I had sushi I had no idea what wasabi was, and assuming it was guacamole I slathered it all over the top…I was literally in tears after stuffing the bite in my mouth!!!

  5. oh my – what a wonderful wonderful day!!!! The music, the food, the fun…love it all!

  6. Weezer and DMB? I’d deal with all the drunk teenagers to see that concert. But I might use some select words to encourage them to move out of my way. The spiciest thing I’ve ever had was a curry soup. It was totally unsuspecting and smelled like coconut milk but really packed a punch. I later found out that chilies were simmered in the broth… a fact that would’ve been good to know before I ordered.

  7. Ha ha I went to MHMF a couple years ago and was like “Dave, come on does every song need to last an hour??” Still a solid concert event though!

Leave a Reply

