East And West

First of all, I just wanted to thank each and every one of you who commented on my previous post. Reading your tales of running woes and the lessons you learned from them really made my day. You guys have so much to say, and I feel so lucky and honored to be a part of such a vibrant, intelligent, and supportive community. In a nutshell, you all rock, and I’m taking all of your encouragement with me into my next long run. 🙂

So, as you may have noticed, I’ve been a bad food blogger as of late. The food pics have been few and far between.

Please accept the following pictures as my form of an apology. They feature a sampling of the international flavors I’ve enjoyed over the past few days.

From West:

An all-American classic: Turkey burgers with horseradish sauce, cheddar cheese, diced peppers, onions, salt, and pepper.

Adding horseradish sauce to turkey burger patties is a stroke of genius that I credit to my mum. They add great flavor to the burgers! That and the cheese. If there’s one thing I know in this life, it’s that you can never have too much cheese in your burger patties. Never.

To East:

A take on spicy Thai stir-fry: Marinaded pork tenderloin stir-fry with sprouts, bell peppers, asparagus, lemongrass, shiitake mushrooms, ginger, and garlic.

Colorful veggies galore!

Many of my favorite meals are wok-based. Some veggies, some flavorful meat, a little brown rice on the side. A perfectly balanced and delicious meal.

And back to the West again.

That cornhusk-wrapped classic of Latin American cuisine: tamales!

My sis picked up some of these bad boys at a tamale shack in the middle of Nowheresville, CO on her way to Breckenridge a few days ago. I enjoyed one cheese and one chicken enchilada for lunch today…

My favorite part of eating tamales is unwrapping them from their little husks. So fun! Or at least, I find it fun to do this. Then again, I’m weird.

Mmmm….doughy cheesy corn-based deliciousness.

One of these days, I’m going to have figure out how to make tamales on my own, but for now, I’ll just enjoy them straight from my fridge. Trust me, the people who work at the tamale shop in Nowheresville, CO know what they’re doing.

Question: Which type of cuisine do you prefer most often? American, Asian, or Latin American?

9 responses to “East And West

  1. Amen! You can NEVER have too much cheese 😉

  2. That’s some good eating! I love classic American and Italian meals, but lately I’ve been craving Mexican. Love the beans, rice, cheese combo.

  3. Stroke of genius is right! Why haven’t I ever thought of adding horseradish to burgers?? I love all things Italian although it’a hard to beat Chinese on a rainy day 🙂

  4. That thai stir fry looks AWESOME! I love love loveee thai food, but I find that when I make it for myself, it normally sucks haha

  5. Oh, so hard to decide. I’d have to go with Asian as my favorite – I just love Tibetan, Japanese, and Indian foods.

  6. I love me some asian! Buddha’s delight is a bowl full of perfection!

  7. omg perfection in a pan! meals like this is what makes me drool. im incredibly voracious just looking at it! plus i havent had a good amount of greens lately, so this is exactly what i need!

    yum yum

  8. I’m a fusion girl– I love combining western and eastern cuisine. Not a big fan of Latin cuisine, though.
    Your thai stir-fry looks amazing. I love the vibrant colors!

  9. Tamales are one of my very favorite things!

Leave a Reply

